We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic retreat in my own backyard!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Ranked #1 of 1 Howard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just spent an evening at the Nature Inn, located in Pa.'s Bald Eagle State Park, about 20 miles northwest of State College, Pa. A beautifully constructed 13-room bed & breakfast inn, the rooms are tastefully decorated with very nice amenities (large LCD tv's, microwaves, refrig); our room was one of eight that have a balcony off of your room overlooking the beautiful lake at BESP. Each room even has binoculars for catching sight of local waterfowl, eagles, and other wildlife that live in the park (deer, bobcats, foxes). Our breakfast in the dining room was cooked to order and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had an enjoyable experience at the park. This particular inn is sort of a "prototype" facility that the PA DCNR have constructed to bring more of an up-scale setting to those interested in "camping" at one of it's state parks. Our second time visiting here and we're sure it won't be our last!! Very nice getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake, a beautiful spot anytime of the year!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Bald Eagle State Park is about 15 miles from State College (Penn State). It is new and offers some of the details that make a stay more pleasant, such as binoculars in each room, real bath towels. Even small touchs like a soap dish. There are not a lot of rooms. The staff is small, but very dedicated; they all do double duty. Try to get a room on the water side, but all views are stellar. There is trout fishing nearby and nature trails galore. Stay away on Penn State football weekends. Much more expensive and likely difficult to get around.(The Stadium holds about 104,000). Unfortunately, there is no restaurant on the premises. Breakfast in the dining room is included. Not gourmet, but is is a full breakfast buffet; the menu changes everyday (wonderful bread pudding, one day).
This also means a drive for dining. Avoid the family style places. Eatable stuff, but that's all.
We found two restaurants that we would go to anytime:
Gamble Mill in Belafonte (about 9 miles) is housed in an old remodeled mill. It has a number of nice intimate rooms and a humongous room for a good sized party. The food is uniformly very good. Wines are a bit overpriced. They accept Restaurant.com coupons, but not on football weekends (unfortunately, we discovered this too late). The entree prices average in the low $20's.
Duffy's Tavern in Boalsburg. An old original tavern. We stumbled in on a rainy day after seeing the Pennsylvania Military Museum (worthwhile). The soups were uniformly very good. Did not eat dinner there. Unfortunately, it is 30 miles from Howard.
If the intention is to do the area, best to stay in College Station, which is halfway between Howard and Boalsburg. A central location if you want to sight see. But not likely to find the ambiance of the Nature Inn. If you are an ice cream or frozen yogurt lover, make sure that you hit the Penn State Creamery.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed at The Nature Inn several times and our impression is always the same- a perfect place to stay! It is designed to be blended into a natural beautiful setting with sweeping views of lake and hills. The views are fantastic in every season. The rooms are designed to be very comfortable , Eco- Friendly, and very attractive . Natural wood furnishings, fluffy comforters, and Audubon prints, small refrig,microwave,coffee maker, and balconies and other amenities. Bird lovers will enjoy watching birds from their balcony with binoculars and bird book provided in the room. Could also go on huge deck and use spotting scope.
The staff feels like family after first meeting. The room rate includes a delicious hot breakfast.
You can hike,walk,attend naturalist activities at the Park, fish , boat , visit elk Country Visitor Center in Benezette, or Penn State.

They also have outside grills ,table,chairs,and a fire pit w/wood for S'Mores ,hot dogs, or just to sit and socialize.

Since they don't serve lunch or dinner we always stop at Wegmen's (State College) to buy food for the grill or microwave.



.

Room Tip: We prefer balcony vs patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited in early August to use our ski boat. The inn and it's view of the lake are beautiful. Our room was large and comfortables (except the sofa bed which was miserable uncomfortable). The private balcony was nice. Continental breakfast was pretty good. Although fairly expensive, I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I really appreciated our two night stay at the Nature Inn. It's in an absolutely stunning location, and I would have been happy to stay a bit longer. We spent most of the days outside, walking the many trails around the inn, and I can see there is a lot to enjoy on foot and on boat. We didnt have much of a problem with mosquitos at any point.

The room was wonderful- clean, quiet and tastefully decorated. It had everything that you needed, even a pair of high quality binoculars. The staff were extremely friendly. When we arrived to check in, our room was not yet made up, and they offered to call us when they had finished. The communial barbeque, library and lounge with fireplace all were great touches, although we went into Bellefonte for our meals.

The only downside to this place was the noise from the speedboats that people were using on the lake. As we were visiting during the week after the summer season was over, we only had one or two boats go by. I think that on a busy weekend during summer the noise would be an unpleasant distraction to anyone staying at the inn, because one of the best parts was relaxing on the balcony looking out at such serene views.

Bottom line is great get-away for nature lovers!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annam401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight here on Memorial Day but a single night is just not enough time to wind down and truly enjoy this secuded,woodsyl place. In early August we returned with friends for three days of walking, kayaking, making smores around the firepit and hanging out on the backporch reading, finishing our morning coffee and spotting deer and bald eagles. The beauty and serenity of this spot is unparalled, as is the friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
It's a destination that, I imagine, would offer stunning vistas of the lake and mountains in each season. Now that's we've sampled the view in spring and summer, we'll be going back sometime in the fall to sit on that porch and soak in the beauty. If you want an authentic break from the hustle and bustle of life, pack a great book, a pair of binoculars and stake your claim on one of those rocking chairs. You may never want to move.

Room Tip: Word of this place is spreading. Be sure to get reservations early, especially in the fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindajane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights on New Years eve. It was a wonderful and romantic experience. The people were very friendly and the rooms were very cosy even in the middle of winter. The fireplace in the dining hall was very inviting though we did not stay indoors to enjoy it fully.
We loved the fact that they provided binoculars for bird watching should you forget yours.
They gave us suggestions for nearby attractions.
We intend to go back again definitely and this time stay in a room facing the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlzdayout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
10.8 mi away
Brush Mountain Lodge
Brush Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Spring Mills
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
20.1 mi away
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Carnegie Inn & Spa
#13 of 26 in State College
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Inn at Bald Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Inn at Bald Eagle

Address: 201 Warbler Way, Bald Eagle State Park, Howard, PA 16841-2901
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Howard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Howard
Price Range: $106 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nature Inn at Bald Eagle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Bald Eagle State Park at the newest addition to the Pennsylvania State Park system. The Nature Inn at Bald Eagle is a 16-room inn providing full-service accommodations in a bucolic setting overlooking the park's 1,730 acre lake. This modern inn, unique to the Pennsylvania's park system, focuses on outdoor recreation and stewardship, makes maximum use of green building technologies, serves as a premier interpretive facility for bird watching and is a gateway property serving the Pennsylvania Wilds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Nature Inn at Bald Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Inn At Bald Eagle Hotel Howard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing