We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ItalianPlace”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grandma's Grotto

Grandma's Grotto
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great ItalianPlace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a great family run place that we have been going to since we moved to Horsham back in 2005. The prices are slightly high for my taste so we only go a few times a year. You can bring your family or just have a date. Its BYOB so make sure you bring your wine. Almost everything is homemade and his sauces are amazing. I am not gluten free so i have no idea on that aspect of his business but they have a large selection and its own menu for gluten free. John is the owner and head chef and the whole family is there. He always takes the time to talk to us when we go if its just for pizza or for full meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream for the Gluten Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Every time our daughter comes home from college we go to Grandma's. It satisfies the the Italian cravings for the Gluten Free! The regular food is great too. My mother came with us the last few times and got the regular ravioli. She swears by it. Their bakery is totally gluten free!!! My mother (100% Italian & a cannoli critic) loved the gluten free cannoli. She got one both times she came with us. My daughter always leaves with several desserts. Grandma's is a great place for the whole family! My daughter has never had trouble with cross contamination. It is worth the drive. The staff is super friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gluten Free - Mamma-Mia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife has been Gluten free for many years now and it has been a great struggle to truly find a gluten free restaurant. Ok.... Let me preface that with a tasty meal with a large selection not only of entrees but appetizers and desserts. (So you know, there is a whole case of gluten free desserts that they have freshly made)
We had tried on many instances to try somewhere that had a "so called gluten free menu" that was a piece of a meal and left you with a sad imitation of their regular meal lacking in flavor and not at all what you want to spend the same amount as a non-gluten free individual.
Grandma's grotto has answered the call of a great restaurant and good gluten free food. We have traveled the hour to get there on numerous occasions because we know that our selection and quality of food will meet our need, price tag and we can go home satisfied. For those that have peanut allergies in their family - they can accommodate that as well. As far as a hurry up and eat atmosphere - not sure this is the place to go..... but when we go, we want to sit and chat and enjoy a good, hearty Italian meal - and they deliver.
So if you are gluten free - This is a must try. go online to their menu and see what a selection they have and if you enjoy cannoli’s, Italian cookies, cupcakes, cake and other desserts - they can satisfy you gluten free sweet tooth!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent GF food...including delicious cannolis!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've been to the restaurant several times in the last year or so. I find their GF food very delicious. My favorites are Chicken Vodka Sauce and Chicken Francese meals. They also have great GF desserts in the forms of cakes and cookies. My absolutely favorite dessert are their GF cannolis....can't tell the difference at all!

The portions are really large. Also included is a salad with the entrees. The food is a little pricey though (but what Italian restaurant isn't); especially the GF dishes (approx. $2 surcharge over non GF equivalent). But, that is unfortunately normal in all GF restaurants. Specialty diet will always cost more.

Since the restaurant is family owned, I believe the servers are the daughters or other family members of the owner. We've always had very friendly service, can't ever complain. At times it may take a little while but never too bad. We'll definitely be back over and over again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfort food for celiacs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grandma's Grotto has the largest gluten-free menu these travelers have ever seen, and the food is good. The chef and kitchen have done training in one of the gluten-free certification programs, so it is also SAFE. Best of all is full menu of gluten-free desserts; nowhere else have we seen anything close in the way of cakes, pastries, cookies and more.

Unfortunately the service does not match either the food or the menu. It is usually slowly, sometimes indifferent and sometimes downright surly. Having the waitress vanish for 30 minutes rather dampens the experience of dining out.

We have eaten here more than a dozen times and the problems with the service are consistent, not just a single bad experience. The result is that we now often opt to get take-out instead of dining in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ-2bgluten-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing