We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pricing, Great Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haru Asian Hibachi restaurant - CLOSED

Haru Asian Hibachi restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: great food and great service!!!
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
“Good pricing, Great Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This restaurant is close to our lodging and after a day in Philly we stopped for dinner yesterday. We had the wonderful shrimp spring roll. Vern selected the Seafood Panaang Curry which he loved. I chose the Drunken Noodles with pork and it was just the right amount and the flavors were excellent. The dinner pricing is only slightly above the lunch pricing and we enjoyed our wait person's personality. The place wasn't very busy as we arrived about 5pm and they are open until 9 on Thursdays. The décor was smart and urban. It was a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NOW VIET THAI CUISINE!!! Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very clean and urban feel. Tried 4 appetizers and one entre - everything was very fresh and had excellent flavors. We were the only 2 people In the place -- hope it catches on as it is as good as some Vietnamese restaurants in Philadelphia....
Service was efficient and friendly...chicken dumplings MELT In your mouth -- no rubbery texture. Sauces were all yummy.....We split the lemongrass chicken and the chicken was fresh, tender and juicy, with just the right amount of spice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Jct, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better Asian In the area”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was traveling on business and I stopped in for dinner one night. There was only one other table taken in the entire place, so I decided to do take out. I ordered a spicy tuna roll and an order of pad Thai. I have to say the sushi roll was excellent....more tuna then roll. The Pad Thai was really disappointing. It was so overcooked that the noodles just fell apart and turned into sort of a starch mush. There was no distinct flavor either. Even bad Pad Thai should have some spice and taste. This was just noodle mush! Almost like it was leftovers reheated in the microwave.
There are other better choices in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank semma2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went on a Friday night at around 6:30pm and there were less than 20 people in the place! We were a little worried when we saw the empty parking lot, but inside the place is really clean and well decorated and the staff is very nice. The restaurant is huge, with a traditional sit down area, a sushi bar and a hibachi side.

We had the hibachi, but people sharing our table did order off of the traditional menu.

We had hibachi shrimp, steak and chicken. The meals came with fried rice or noodles, onion soup and a salad with ginger dressing. Everyone thought the food was delicious, including the hibachi veggies, which included carrots and broccoli. The food was light and not overly sauced or salty. Also, our food wasn't cooked in a slab of butter like some of these places do.

The chef was a young man who really interacted with all the kids at the table and did the standard hibachi tricks of the onion volcano, tossing the food to see if you can catch it in your mouth and squirting the saki out of the squeeze bottle. He was really a lot of fun.

It is also a BYOB which is a huge plus in our book.

We would definitely return with a larger group for a family dinner.

I hope more people give it a try - compared to other Japanese restaurants in the area, this one is less expensive, but I thought the food was superior.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“pleasant suburban surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited on a quiet Monday night, and ordered smaller rolls (5-6 pc) - spider, tempura shrimp and spicy crunchy salmon. Each roll was unique and really delicious. Prices were reasonable, especially for the high quality arrangements coming from the sushi bar. Interior is nice, newly designed and has more character than I'd expect considering it's a suburban sushi place. 3 rolls, 1 miso soup for $22.
They have hibachi also, but i didn't see it in action when I was there. Looked nice, though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjhMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haru Asian Hibachi restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing