We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Extended Stay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Horsham
Reviewed September 3, 2010

First of all, this is not a luxury hotel or a business-class hotel. But if you have reasonable expectations, it is a good alternative to a regular hotel room - particularly if you're staying for an extended period of time.

I stayed here for a month when i was relocating to the area. The hotel as a whole is in relatively good condition. Nothing fancy, but reasonably clean and updated. The rooms themselves are about the size of a regular hotel room, with a queen bed, reclining chair, desk/table, and a kitchenette. The kitchenette has a 2 burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, and full-size refrigerator. It is stocked with basic dishes and utensils.

One clarification - the rooms are not "suites" in the traditional sense, in that there is not a seperate bedroom and living area. It's basically a standard hotel room with a kitchenette. They may have some larger suites in the hotel, but a standard room is going to be what i described. Regardless, i found it sufficient - the kitchenette was the main reason i stayed here. My only complaint about the rooms is that the carpets are pretty old and really need to be replaced. Otherwise, i found everything to be fine.

One warning - this is a 3 story high wood-framed building. The floors are not concrete. If you are on the first or second floor and have someone above you, you are probably going to hear them walking around. That may or may not bother you. If you stay on the 3rd floor, it won't be a problem but half of the 3rd floor is smoking so that could be an issue, even if you are in the non-smoking half. Otherwise, i didn't hear any noise at all from anyone in the building. Unlike other "extended stay" hotels i've been in, the walls here seemed pretty well noise-insulated.

Overall, this is a good alternative if you want the amenities of an apartment without the cost of corporate housing or higher-end suite hotels. I reserved through hotwire and paid less than half of what it would have cost to stay in the residence inn or some of the other hotels in the area. That being said, you get what you pay for and this is not a fancy hotel. it's bare-bones but clean and quiet and that's all i was looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

I had not stayed in this kind of hotel before - we had a suite with kitchenette. We needed a suite so we could put our baby to sleep in the bedroom while we stayed up in the evening.

The location was in the middle of a business park, so it would be good for people doing business nearby, and it was close to I-276. We chose it because we were visiting a place in the suburbs north of Philadelphia so had to drive. It would not be good for someone without a car.

Our suite was clean and in a good state of repair. The corridor outside smelled of smoke, but the suite did not. We heard some thumping from other guests going up the stairs and walking around in the evening and early morning.

Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

So this hotel is ok. Fine for the $99/night price for a 1 br suite. No frills. Really basic and standard. Not as roomy as another Candlewood Suite we've stayed in, but it fit our needs just fine.

PROS
Free abundant parking. Never had a problem finding a spot, though we came and went quite a bit.

Free internet! Ethernet cable in the room. Plug and surf!

Great staff. Actually just the night shift guy was great. The day lady clearly wished she worked somewhere else. The night shift guy, Gabriel I think, was wonderful. Very personable and helpful.

The day shift lady actually grimaced when I brought down our towels to get fresh ones...which is required at this hotel because they don't offer daily cleaning service. You have to be there a week, and even then they only come once during the entire stay.

Kitchen area is great. Full size fridge with ice maker. Stove. No oven though, which was a little disappointing, but not a big deal. Full set of dishes, glasses, silverware, cooking utensils, even pots and pans.

CONS
Weird musty smell on the first floor. Might be coming from the workout room which is right near the front desk. You can't smell it on the 3rd floor though, which is where we stayed.

No restaurant, just a little 'cupboard' area with snacks.

The bathrooms in the rooms need a good once-over with a fresh caulk gun. No one wants to see black and brown in a bathroom where there should be white or at least off-white! Seriously. Really good shower, but the mold and mildew has to go.

Had to change rooms the first night because the air conditioner didn't work. This was actually a pretty big fiasco because they had to take the cover to the air unit completely off and all we could see was 4 inches of dust sitting on the ac unit filter. Yucko-rama!

But they did move us to another 1br suite and it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterSargent1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I've been staing at the Candlewood suites for almost two years now and only one complaint, the curtain smells sometimes other than that it's really good. The staff is excellent and it's close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Candlewood Suites for 30 days while we relocated to the area. It was an awful experience. In advance, we specifically requested a smoke free room as I am highly allergic. When we arrived we were given a heavily smoke drenched room. Despite explaining my intense allergic reaction, it took them 4 DAYS to switch our room. You have to beg the maid service just to get toilet paper as though they were paying for it themselves. The soundproofing is awful if you are near the stairs or if anyone is staying above you. It makes it almost impossible to sleep if you do not keep the exact same hours as your neighbors. At one point, we had extremely unruley loud neighbor and management did NOTHING to help the situation!!! Simply one of the worst hotel experiences of my life. Stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stor1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLWG, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent experience at the Candlewood Suites Philadelphia-Willow Grove. It is comments such as yours that help keep our staff focused on issues that are important to our guests.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the experience you had at the hotel. We take measures with all of our staff to ensure each guest has a completely satisfactory stay while they are in the Horsham area.

If there is anything else you feel you would like to share in order to improve our levels of service, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I would like the opportunity to regain your trust in our hotel. When your travels bring you to the Willow Grove – Horsham area, please contact me personally to arrange your stay. I look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.


Sincerely,



Kathi E. Hilgert
General Manager
Candlewood Suites
Philadelphia-Willow Grove, PA
215-328-9119 ext 419

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Freindly staff, excellent workput room, I appreciate the free laundry facilities and location to my worksite and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisadoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This hotel is in a very quite setting. They have one of the most comfortable beds i've ever slep on. Overall it is a great value and I will stay here whenever i'm in town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burtonboarder40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsham
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Horsham Philadelphia
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Horsham - Dresher Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Willow Grove
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia/Ft. Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove

Address: 250 Business Center Dr, Horsham, PA 19044-3404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Horsham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Horsham
Price Range: $81 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia - Horsham - Willow Grove hotel is nestled in SE Pennsylvania. We are a stone's throw from many areas of interest such as King of Prussia Mall, Valley Forge National Historic Park, Franklin Mills Mall, Philadelphia Zoo, Philadelphia Convention Center, Franklin Institute, Willow Grove NAS JRB, & Fox Chase Cancer Center.The Candlewood Suites Philadelphia/Willow Grove is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Earn Priority Club rewards points for each qualifying stay. Our large guest suites offer the perfect amenities for your business trip, vacation, or relocation needs. Each room boasts a fully equipped kitchen allowing you to cook the meals that you love just the way you like them! Relax in your overstuffed recliner as you enjoy a movie from our free lending library. Work in comfort at your in-room desk while taking advantage of our free high-speed Internet. Can't bear to leave Fido at home? Bring him along! We offer a pet friendly environment. Visit our executive fitness center or do your laundry in our free machines. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for a frozen dinner, ice cream, or late-night snack. It is open 24-hours! We are also a great alternative to a corporate apartment and offer a flexible pricing structure based on your length of stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove Hotel Horsham
Horsham Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Horsham
Candlewood Horsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing