We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homeade breads and soups”
Review of Sun Porch Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Porch Buffet
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kensington, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great homeade breads and soups”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Skip the tired salad bar and the heavy main dishes. This place has a variety of basic, homestyle soups and lovely home made breads. The pies on the dessert tray were also very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“For a town that really has no good places to eat the Sun Porch is the best place in Fayette County.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Living in Philadelphia you have to prepare yourself for a lack of great eating places when going out to Uniontown. Even the Nemacolin resort to me is just average from a food perspective. But I happen to be told that the Sun Porch was the place to go. So I stopped in and can tell you this is the best food in Uniontown area. The Titlow, Capperelis nor Nemacolin cannot compete with the Sun Porch in food quality and service. Some of the darn potato salad I ever had you have to try it. I find the food to very moist and as well the service staff is always make sure that the food up to a very high standard. The staff are always professional and seem to be very happy. Happy Staff make great food it seems to be story the will continue for a long time. Great Job Sun Porch I love you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpqse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family has been eating at the Sun Porch occasionally for 23 years. (My son had his first carrot to gnaw on here!) We hadn't visited for a while, but decided to go again the other day. Why did we wait so long?! The place was exactly the same, in a very good way. The food is still delicious and varied. The owners still visit your table and all the servers are attentive. The price of the buffet is exceptional for the value. There is a huge salad bar and they were carving beef roast and ham. My favorite item is the corn fritters covered with maple syrup. We decided not to wait so long between visits again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Satisfying meal at a bargain price”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I were passing through Hopewood heading elsewhere for dinner, when the Sun Porch sign caught our attention and we decided to give it a try. Very glad we did! A huge selection on the buffet -- we couldn't try everything. I'm not a meat eater so I can't tell you about most of the entrees, but the baked fish was quite good. The salad and dessert bars were outstanding. Friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great buffet, all home made”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were ravenous after caving in Laurel Caverns and our guide recommended this local place. We don't visit many buffets but gave this a try. We were very happy we did. Nice service, hometown folks, tasty food at a decent price. Save room for the pies!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Porch Buffet also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing