We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Schrute Farms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schrute Farms
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Loved this place. Great room, friendly service from our host. There were a lot of activities you can do with your family. Food was awesome as well. Will definitely come back. The beds were soft and the view of the fields were amazing. an idyllic respite from the hectic times of work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really, really hoped that the parsnips would be in season when my wife and I arrived. A lot of people know Schrute farms for its incredible beets... but the parsnips are to die for.

From what I understand, the fields were left fallow so that they would yield another world class crop in 2014. Booking my next trip!

The accommodations were incredible, but that goes without saying.

Room Tip: The rooms are great - I suggest you DON'T bring and alarm clock (or smart phone) because the cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica0204, Guest Relations Manager at Schrute Farms, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Dear Cody,
thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
We value your impressions and always try to take them into account.
As you correctly said, in order for us to get the best crops, the fields are left fallow every five years.
Our valuable guests can find all the information on our website, under the calendar website.
We do hope to see you next year and would definitely be happy to allow you to taste our famous parsnips en croute recipe.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not stay here!! We had bedbug bites from the straw mattresses, there was no lock on the outhouse door (!), there was actually a pile of horse manure in the front entryway, and I caught that[--]weirdo Mose at the base of our bed at 3 a.m. just staring at us! Oh, not to mention the red stains on our teeth from the beet-based menu, and the fact that they actually chucked a pumpkin at us as we were leaving. Skip this place and head on down the road to the Stalk Inn, which just re-opened under new management.

Room Tip: The Irrigation Room has a view of the outhouse with the broken lock, if you're in to that stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kramerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattlg90, Manager at Schrute Farms, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Dear Kramerica,
Thank you for your email.
First of all, I am deeply apologetic for the inconvenience this has caused you.
Our main goal is to assure that all of our customers can have the best experience in the facility. I will personally investigate further and make sure a proper check is carried out.
Could you please provide me with some more specific details and if some of the staff was able to help you out somewhat. Certain situations are to be escalated.
I will personally keep you updated on the situation. Please once more accept our sincere and deepest apologies.
Kind Regards,

Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent hotel in a good location. The perfect hotel for the theater lover. Rooms are clean and the bathroom has plenty of room. I was given a corner room and the view is fantastic. Would stay there again. Staff is super, love the small touch such as the front desk staff will come from behind the counter and stand next to you to explain your room location and other details.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSpada_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louie De Q, General Manager at Schrute Farms, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing to you again.

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Irrigation Room is amazing. We throughly enjoyed the visit. The table making demonstration was the highlight of the stay. Dwight and Mose are exceptional (albeit a little weird) hosts. Warm and welcoming place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrimixDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have never been more satisfied in my life. Mr. Schrute was warm and welcoming along with his cousin, Mose. The freshly made beet wine tasted as sweet as the sound of being awakened by the toilet door. Making a table has been one of my best experiences ever, I know dine on it night and day. Thank you, Dwight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dulcie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I loved this and had a great time. The beds were soft and the view of the fields were amazing. an idyllic respite from the hectic times of work. i stayed with my partner and we were well looked after. I can only recommend the breakfast buffet (croissants that were light and crispy!), and sitting by the pool taking the world in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels
1  Thank Minesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 9, 2016

Thank you for reviewing our business!

On behave of the Hotel management and staff we like to inform you that always enjoying providing the best travel experience to our valid Customers and we always will be!

For anything else let us know.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honesdale
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
0.6 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
29 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
12.7 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
10.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schrute Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schrute Farms

Address: Main Street, Honesdale, PA 85364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Honesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range: $100 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schrute Farms (HOTEL) is conveniently located where an 7-minute walk from JR Shinkansen Okayama Station. The hotel is ideal for wedding, banquet, business conference and perfect place to stay for leisure and business. Our in-house restaurant 'MIZAR' serves variety of food, however you can enjoy fresh seafood and local Okayama's food at restaurants near the hotel. There are also many things to do / to see in Okayama. It is easy access to Okayama Korakuen Garden, Okayama Castle from the hotel. It is about 1 hour from JR Okayama station to Naoshima Island. Schrute farms doesn't exist. You will live happily ever after. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Schrute Farms, Schrute Farms, Schrute Farms and Schrute Farms so you can book your Schrute Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schrute Farms Hotel Honesdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing