We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am coming back every summer”
Review of Schrute Farms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schrute Farms
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved the Beet wine at this place! The owner was kinda quirky kept trying to sell me paper, but in the end it was worth it due to the very tasty beet meals.

He also taught me how to wrestle a bear and how to catch a bat

All in all a good stay, would recommend the irrigation themed room

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adwin604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall, his was almost exactly what I was expecting from a little b&b on a beet farm. What I wasn't expecting was how unnervingly creepy the owner, Dwight would be. I swear, if they hadn't already caught the Scranton Strangler, this guy would be suspect #1. The way he looks at you... and the stories he tells...
Luckily, some kind of documentary crew showed up and started filming there for the weekend for some reason, which seemed to temper his insanity.
Great beet juice, though. I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Best beets in town, can't get enough of them. Beet wine, beet soup, beet spa treatments. I came as a blonde and after the wonderful beet hair treatment, I left a red head! Dwight was a gracious host, tells a lot of stories. The only thing I have to say is that the straw-stuffed beds were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mynameisvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The atmosphere was comfy and very educatational! I am very happy with Shrute farms. Owner Dwight served us goat milk and goat cheese with goat steaks and played us a melody on a goat horn he made. We then went to a goat fleece making seminar and made a goat vest. It was amazing, when we were in the irrigation room, Dwight read us some of Moses storys. Overall amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PamHalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am very happy with Shrute farms. Owner Dwight served us goat milk and goat cheese with goat steaks and played us a melody on a goat horn he made. We then went to a goat fleece making seminar and made a goat vest. It was amazing, when we were in the irrigation room, Dwight read us some of Moses storys. Overall amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoahJlpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Staying at Schrute Farms was honestly the best time I have ever had. We stayed in the Irrigation Room, just enough room to make it cozy. We attended the bed making workshop, Dwight and Mose were very knowledgable and took the time to help is individually. I could not have asked for a better time. And that was just the first day! Dwight was nice enough to even offer to read us the first few chapters of Harry Potter and the Sorcerers' Stone. Mose made popcorn and curled up on the floor next to our bed and listened with us. Early the next morning we helped Dwight harvest some beats that were ready. He and Mose took us on a hayride while we had lunch. By the time we got back it was about time to go. Our magical weekend was over. I cannot wait to book our next stay!!! Thank you so much Dwight and Mose!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlinkLoserKid717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The natural aroma of the beets drifts into the bedrooms and makes you dream of simpler times. The dawn goose walk will tug at your heartstrings. Table-making never seemed so possible. You will never want to leave your room. The architecture reminds one of a quaint Tuscan beet farm.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank theHalperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieCayetano, General Manager at Schrute Farms, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent stay at Schrute Farms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honesdale
0 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
138 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
0.6 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
673 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schrute Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schrute Farms

Address: Main Street, Honesdale, PA 85364 (Formerly Schrute Farms)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Honesdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Price Range: $106 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schrute Farms (HOTEL) is conveniently located where an 7-minute walk from JR Shinkansen Okayama Station. The hotel is ideal for wedding, banquet, business conference and perfect place to stay for leisure and business. Our in-house restaurant 'MIZAR' serves variety of food, however you can enjoy fresh seafood and local Okayama's food at restaurants near the hotel. There are also many things to do / to see in Okayama. It is easy access to Okayama Korakuen Garden, Okayama Castle from the hotel. It is about 1 hour from JR Okayama station to Naoshima Island. Schrute farms doesn't exist. You will live happily ever after. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Schrute Farms, Schrute Farms, Schrute Farms and Schrute Farms so you can book your Schrute Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schrute Farms Hotel Honesdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing