We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great.”

The Alpine Wurst & Meat House
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Honesdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Honesdale, in the Northern Pocono region of Northeastern Pennsylvania, The Alpine Wurst & Meat House has been a premier manufacturer of German sausages, smoked ham, Kassler Rippchen, cold cuts and meats for over thirty years. Our three on site smokehouses assure you the best authentic smoky flavor; while providing the best quality sausages produced with the utmost care and attention. Along with our deli and butcher shop, The Alpine Wurst & Meat House Restaurant is located right next door. Every year thousands indulge on homemade German‐American Cuisine. Our annual Oktoberfest is held every August outside under "The Tent". Known as the largest in the Poconos, we have seating for over 1,000 people!
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for consistently wonderful food in a friendly, impeccably clean place, The Alpine should top your list. The steaks are the best I've ever had and the traditional German menu items are great as well.
*NOTE -- There is ONE waitress who is very spacey and scatterbrained -- the rest are wonderful. Ask for Pearl-- she'll take good care of you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PABETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    56
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

everything on the menu is awesome. Every time we are in the area we make time to eat in this establishment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank deenyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, service was good as well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The alpine is a great place place to eat for sure. Portions are large, menu variety is good. The steaks are large and the german cuisine is authentic for sure. They have a store in the restaurant as well where you may purchase their home made meat products as well as other german snacks and products. A must do if you are in the Honesdale area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alpine House Honesdale PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wonderful cheery waitress Great dinners. German sausage, Spetzel, Smoked pork chop and the best Ruben I ever had.
Bob thought the beer was wonderful

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pastrami for Me, please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everything on the menu is delicious, but the pastrami is my favorite.
For an added treat, visit the store next to the restaurant to bring home some amazing fresh meats, sausages and other international treats. There is also a wine store on premises. Looking forward to go to the Octoberfest celebration this year (that is held in August).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommaDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alpine Wurst & Meat House also viewed

Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Alpine Wurst & Meat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing