We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Manning House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
James Manning House
Ranked #1 of 4 Honesdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
192 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place, exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lovely stay. Staff was lovely, and thoughtful, e.g. Toiletries in the bathoom if you'd forgotten anything. Our room was large and clean, with lots of homey touches. Breakfast was generously portioned and delicious. Other folks who had stayed there had been in other places on and around Honesdale and it much better than the other places they had stayed. Garden in the back is pretty for a stroll or lounging in the adirondack chairs. Better than staying in the local hotels.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Been to lots of B and Bs and I have to say this is one of the better ones. Greeted and shown around the house. We were the only ones staying there for our one night stay. Lots of drinks and food around the house to nibble on throughout the day/evening. Books, board games and TV available for use. Nice garden in backyard. Breakfast was plentiful and savory. Went out to dinner at Wayne Hotel. Food was decent and within 5 mile drive. In residential area so not much to do around immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojourn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

In an area where there are very few decent hotels or other places to stay, my wife and I found a 'Jewel in the Rough' in the James Manning house Bed & Breakfast. We stayed there this past weekend and had one of the most relaxing times we have ever had in any place we have visited. We were in town to visit old friends and had a full schedule planned out for the weekend, however, we did not want to even leave the Bed & Breakfast. We could have stayed inside all weekend and been very happy. Jim and Janet, our hosts, could not have been any more accomodating. Jim even cleaned off my van after it snowed 7 inches the first night we were there. The breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious, the home made deserts were great and the house itself was extremely clean. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable and the living rooms downstairs, each with a fireplace, were so relaxing to just sit in and enjoy. My wife and I did not want to leave and really cannot wait to go back. We will make this a regular getaway for us in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2011 while visiting our daughter working at summer camp nearby. Janet and Warren were fantastic generous hosts. They provided a homely atmosphere, good food and generous access to the house and garden. The furnishings were high standard with great attenton to detail. We found this a perfect base in the area and a perfect setting to recharge our batteries. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwatson881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and stayed at the James Manning House for two nights last weekend. Janet and Warren could not have been more welcoming, friendly or hospitable. Their home is beautiful and VERY comfortable~ , they strive to make sure that your every need and comfort are met. We loved it there and will definitely return....a stellar experience!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I looked at other B&B's on line and checked out their rooms. I chose it because I thought that their rooms looked beautiful and I wasn't disappointed. As a matter of fact they went beyond my expectations. I believe and my husband agrees, that they had the most wonderful breakfast. Definitely gourmet and plenty of it(we left with doggy bags) The owners Janet and Warren were great and I can't forget their little dog Louie. (Don't worry if you're not into dogs he is rarely seen unless you request his presence) Would love to stay there again the next time we're up that way.

Room Tip: They are all good. Checkout the handmade quilts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We Love this place!
Nice hosts, super clean, beautiful house and grounds. Excellent breakfast! Newspaper in the morning for my husband:)
We traveled five hours to the area to drop off our teenager at the close by camp next morning, and decided to stay as close as possible to the camp. From the first minute of our arrival we enjoyed a peaceful and quiet house. It made our stay very refreshing after long drive.

We felt like we traveled in time and visited some nice “relatives” in they brand new house (house was build in 1819 - Federal style;). Actually, owners of the B&B traveled in Alaska, but they daughter made as feel welcomed and comfortable. There are three rooms for gests on the second floor and nice leaving, sitting, and breakfast rooms on the first. There are fresh air and pleasant smell from flowers. There is NO dust at all! We enjoyed the album with pictures that shows how owners restored and converted the house into B&B a few years ago.
I wish we could stay a second night there.

If you are driving nearby highways it would worth every single minute to make a small detour to stay at this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hope_t64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honesdale
2.9 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Manning House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Manning House

Property: James Manning House
Address: 421 Wayne St, Honesdale, PA 18431-5903
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Honesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Manning House Bed & Breakfast, located in the Lake Region of the Pocono Mountains, welcomes visitors to Historic Wayne County, Bethany and Honesdale, PA. Guests will find our 197 year old federal-style house to offer all modern amenities along with charming, eclectic antique and country furnishings. We offer common rooms for reading or conversation, gardens for strolling, and of course comfortable sleeping quarters with private baths. Our hot, hearty breakfasts are prepared fresh from local farm produce and our own garden harvests when available.Our historical bed and breakfast offers you tranquility and comfort. When you arrive for your stay, you will find a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, the perfect alternative to traditional hotel lodging. At the James Manning House your hosts look forward to welcoming you with the warm, friendly hospitality unmistakable to their PA Dutch heritage. The property is also ideal for small, intimate group events or business meetings. Perfect for the business traveler to enjoy the homelike atmosphere and to start their business day with a warm home-cooked meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your James Manning House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing