We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for good food service”
Review of Gran Agave - CLOSED

Gran Agave
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place for good food service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visit Gran Agave often. It is a local place for us, so we have gotten to know the wonderful staff. The food is great, (not taco bell) pleantiful and inexpensive. The margaritas will keep you coming back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Taste of Mexico at the Waterfront”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Gran Agave is our go-to Mexican spot these days. It's not just tacos and chimichangas - you can get a taste of real Mexican food, including my personal favorite, chilaquiles - Mexican comfort food at its best! The complimentary chips are house-made, warm and fresh, and the guacamole is creamy and delicious. Portions are huge (easily enough for lunch the next day), and everything is served fresh and hot from the kitchen. But the very best thing about Gran Agave is their margarita... hands down the best I've had anywhere in the world! It's a family recipe, and well worth guarding the secret! The only things I can criticize are that they do charge extra if you need a refill on chips, which is inconvenient if you order an appetizer and need more of them, and the big screen TVs that are always blasting sports can be a bit too much for me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maledicta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Mexian food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Agave is top notch Mexican food; very fresh and tasty. Where most Mexican places seem to just prepare pre-made food, this actually taste like they prepare the bulk of the meal to order..probably the best Mexican in Pittsburgh.

The atmosphere is cool..no tacky decor like most Mexican joints have, rather it is hip, trendy, and has a lot of natural lighting..very relaxing during the day, and very trendy at night.

A great deal as well. I highly recommend this place as service, food, atmosphere, and price are all outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“O.k. experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Gran Agave for lunch and there were quite some people in there already but we did not have to wait for a table. We liked the fact that you get complimentary Tacos and Salsa, the service was also o.k. Unfortunately we did not like the Taco Salad because it was not enough salad but more a minced meat salad with lots of Guacamole and some green leafs. Maybe we have to visit this place again sometime but from this one time, it was only an o.k. experience for us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zwipsel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better Mexican food in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best of the Mexican restaurants I've tried in Pittsburgh. Portions are exceptionally generous, so I suggest ordering side dishes instead of entrees, especially if you plan on having a margarita (which you definitely should!). Staff is friendly, food is somewhat bland, but enjoyable. Reasonably priced ( especially the margaritas...seriously, try the margaritas :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mvgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing