We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The people who run this place are rude, and it's overpriced.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hershey Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hershey Travel Inn
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The people who run this place are rude, and it's overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

I generally like to support local business, so when I saw this place was a little bit more pricey than the chain hotels, I figured it would be a reasonable, if not comparable place to stay. However, when we arrived, we found the place was dirty, poorly maintained, very small and even misleading. Putting the luggage (one bag) in the room made it impossible to walk from the bed to the bathroom. There were cobwebs and dirt all over the carpet. The bathroom was moldy and dirty. We opted for a queen bed and received a full sized bed. This does not even fit my partner. Furthermore, the mattress is very old, and wobbly, and certainly not worth the $140+ dollars we paid for it. We approached the business owner and he immediately attacked us verbally, claiming that 1000s of people have slept on this bed and have not complained it is too small. Therefore, it can't be the wrong size. Then when we asked what we could do to cancel our reservation, I was told we could walk out, but still pay the price. When my partner asked what the reasoning was for this, the owner turned, looked at him and said, I don't want to even speak to you, you are not my guest. Turns out, only the person with the credit card charges matters here.

I suggest that you don't stay here. Surely there must be nicer locally run/owned places in Hershey to place your money. This place is a rip-off and you are certain to be treated without any respect at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frog_girl_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    4
    42
See reviews for
25
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

An absolute hole. The kind of place you'd expect the State to send paroled murderers and child molesters as a sort of half way house. Half way to what, I can only guess. Pubic hairs on the towels, holes in the walls, dust everywhere, and my son found specks of something brown in the sheets on his bed. We walked. Stopped by the office to tell the "manager," and he totally flipped out, starting calling us names and generally was unwilling/unable to participate in a civilized dialogue. Big surprise. If this was a Taliban AAA recommended stop on the road to imminent slaughter, fine. Here in the civilized world, we have standards, and this place is the biggest pile of feces I've ever had the displeasure of setting foot in in my entire life. One positive note: Apparently it's possible to completely furnish a hotel by picking up furniture from other peoples garbage.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cestmoitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hershey hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

After I booked, I read all the negative reviews and was pretty taken back but I thought I shouldn’t get swayed by what people say I must give them a chance and see for myself exactly how they are. I am so glad I listened to my heart. This is a Family owned operation and they have treated us so very cordially we felt completly at home. The building is old but the room, bathroom, kitchenette, patio and furniture’s were spotless. Housekeeping came in on time and we had clean towels and sheets. It was truly a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jafrin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

As a travel professional, I have the opportunity to visit properties with different star ratings. This property definitely earns a one star rating, possibly one half. The property is in need of some serious updates (paint peeling, dirty feel and look), box springs were torn, floor was sticky, beds were less than comfy, reviews were accurate. I would recommend taking the money you would spend here and investing in a better property, there are two next door that would warrant a better look and feel. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveltips80128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stay in what they call an "apartment" for all but 350 dollars a WEEK and some how they seem to charge us around 425 a WEEK. The room was basically size of regular hotel room, but had a VERY small oven, sink, microwave, full fridge that is dirty, and table. Got into room at 11 at night hoping for a nice bed to sleep, burn holes throughout blanks, rough blankets, and pillows stank. Two poles in the middle of the room, fridge was dirty, oven is so small couldn't even fit a pan in it and close the door, phone was horrible crackled WHEN WORKED! when it did work, it would cut in and out, have to bang phone against wall to come back. And PEOPLE UP STAIRS WERE THE MOST LOUDEST PEOPLE I HAVE EVER LIVED UNDER. You can hear ever foot step, ever word, ladies phone was on VIBERATE and you can hear it perfectly down there. Pounding on the ground from 6 in the morning to around 12 at night, and would start up at 6 am every day, their childern were outside all day, being very loud, yelling and screaming consinetly. Water only got hot, and VERY hot, burnt my hands a couple of times. Couldn't even get fresh air into room, windows painted shut and way out dated. Carpet has burn holes everyway. The door to come into room doesnt fit door frame, it was very hard to open the door and to pull very hard to open. And locking the door? there is two locks, and the littlest one works. Air conditioner doesnt get cold, and knobs are on right. Tv was blury had to bang on that to get it to work also. The toliet doesnt flush have the time, the lid on the back of the toliet is broken. Black mold under sink, disgusting! Shower has chips and dings all through tub, tub doesnt hold water. Fan in bathroom doesnt work. They give you disgusting dishes, and not even washed. Its whatever people leave here. Not sure what they use for heat in the winter, there is no thermastat or anything. Floor in the "kitchen" was so gross. Lights take like 10 mintues to come on, out side is a sensor light, or so what they call it, you have to walk by it like 5 times for it to come on. I had my cousin visiting from college, and she came around 7 at night left around 2 am, and the next day we went up to get the deposit we put down for the other apartment because we desided to leave after 3 nights, and they told us that they were charging us 75 dollars because we had visitors! They asked if she stayed the night and we said no, which was true she left at 2 am, and they said that, that was spending the night and it would be a charge for her staying there, because visitors only cant stay 1 or 2 hours. Don't understand where they get the right to charge you for having people come over and hang out. Dont supply you with extra towels or clean room. We used our towels cleaning up and asked them for towels and they said they dont supply them only toliet paper, which was the thinest toliet paper i have ever used. No hair dryer, iron, soap, nothing! Everything is OUT DATED! We had found a cat and took it in for A NIGHT and they saw it and told us to put it out or get out, and when my boyfriend went to talk to the guy he told my boyfring "This is why we don't rent to people like you" Which was VERY rude! He charged us ANOTHER 75 dollars for the cat. This place was a HUGE waste of money and disgusted me to the MAX. I would and will never recommend this place to no one. I am taking my business else where, never will i come back here, EVER.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TSAMHNS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night stay in Hershey before our beach vacation. We knew we planned to be at the park all day, therefore we were just looking for a place to sleep and shower. After booking the hotel, we checked reviews on this site---and they absolutely terrified us of going to the hotel! Overall, the hotel was not as awful as some of the reviews make you think. The value is good. We got 2 rooms - one for my parents and one for myself & my boyfriend. Both rooms were equal. The room was not dirty, except for a few hairs in my moms bed. The beds were comfortable, there was an air conditioner, and the shower worked fine. The night we stayed the entire hotel was booked! The hotel is just old, if it was updated and kept cleaner it would be a much better place! It covered what we were looking for, but I would not recommend staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyluv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had called to book the room in the morning and were told about the 24 hour notice and early departure rules. These are not uncommon these days but for this Inn I can clearly understand why. Once we had checked in, we were immediately greeted by a very pungent chemical odor in the room which may have just been cleaning supplies or from fumigating the room. When we used the toilet, it would not flush properly even after two or three tries. My wife sat on the bed to pull back the bed covers and the bed sank to the floor. Once the bed covers were pulled back, she found food crumbs in the bed.

When I notified the clerk, he came down to prove that everything was in working order. While he was not able to explain the odor, he did try to show that the toilet was working. However, while the water came into the toilet bowl, it did not exit very quickly. He adjusted the slat under the bed but when he sat on the bed, it collapsed again. He also accused us of planting the food crumbs. When he refused to refund the money siting their cancellation policy, I immediately called my credit card company to dispute the charges. We left after only 15 minutes being there and felt absolutely violated the remainder of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NHTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Hershey
Econo Lodge Hershey
#18 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 24 in Hershey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#17 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#4 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 24 in Hershey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Travel Inn

Property: Hershey Travel Inn
Address: 905 East Chocolate Ave., Hershey, PA 17033
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hershey Travel Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hershey Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing