We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simplicity Inn Hershey
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff, quiet setting, charming room, so clean and equipped with all one needed - a real home away from home! Staff gave helpful suggestions on restaurants and attractions in the area. The manager could not have been more accommodating!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and was just what we wanted. Our suite had two separate bedrooms and a nice kitchenette. It was perfect for four adults and two children. The staff was incredibly helpful and accessible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I came from Germany for a roadtrip and stayed one night. The Rodewayinn Hershey was the best value I had on the whole trip so far: spacy room, very clean, matress in good condition, very comfortable, very friendly and helpful staff. Located in a quite neighbourhood away from the main traffic streets but easy to find and good access to the Hershey attractions. Would have stayed one more night if it wasn't booked up. My recommendation for a stay in Hershey.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Overnight stay while visiting Hershey Museum. The accomodations were fine in every way for the price range. Staff were friendly and accomodating. They went out of their way to give recommendations for restaurants, driving directions,special needs,etc. We loved the quiet neighborhood setting and yet the proximity to Hershey park. Also we were able to park our car close to our rooms which made loading and unloading easy, even int he rain. Morning continental breakfast was well-provided and maintained. I recommend Rodeway in Hershey to anyone who loves essentials for a good stay-over.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a very family friendly hotel with a welcoming manager and staff. The location is excellent. It is an older hotel located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Given its age, the rates are among the lowest in the immediate area, especially on weeknights and when Hershey Park is closed seasonally. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Large rooms are well suited to families and the pool and on-site continental breakfast are nice. Parking is immediately adjacent to rooms, and there is no traffic noise to disturb sleep. There is no fitness center or room service. I rate rooms "excellent" in the context of the rates charged.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have extra beds for groups or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TomHustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Decided to stay here so we could take advantage of the discount admission prices during HersheyPark in The Springtime which is their special for Opening Weekends. Discounted Regular Tickets were $25.95 and Jr./Sr. Tickets were $16.95 avaible at the local Giant Food Center. The property is in close proximity to HersherPark (under 10 minute ride to the parking lot). The hotel charges were covered by our Choice Privileges Points Balance, but it would have been approximately $130ish for the two bedroom we selected.

Check in was very smooth. We were greeted at the counter and our reservation was processed promptly. The amenities were explained such as pool hours/location and breakfast hours/location. The gentleman at the desk then walked us to our room. The atmosphere was welcoming, not overbearing.

Normally we avoid Rodeway's because they are generally at the bottom of the Choice Food chain. However, based on research and info we decided to give this property a stay. The rooms are not your typical cookie cutter motel style one would associate with a Rodeway Inn.

This motel is more like a hotel (not quite). It appears as if it were an apartment complex that has been converted into its current state. The rooms aren't upscale, but they aren't suppose to be. They had everything we needed for our two night stay.

Our two bedroom "suite" was located on a second floor with no elevator access. It was very roomy and had one queen bed in a common room and two full beds in a private room along with a kitchen area. The kitchen has a sink, large fridge/freezer and large table as well as cabinets stocked with plates, silverware and utensils. Both sleeping areas have LCD TV's and separate heat & A/C. The beds are standard motel style. These were comfortable, but not nearly as nice ad the Comfort Suite beds we usually stay at.

Parking is somewhat tight, but appears to be sufficient for one vehicle per room. We were able to park right across from the stairwell to our room.

The indoor pool is located right off the lobby, so for most rooms you have to walk outside to get to the pool area. The pool is large with a depth scale of 3ft to 5ft deep. Pool towels are available right there.

They do offer a basic Continental Breakfast upstairs from the lobby and then menu for the next morning was posted at the lobby counter. It is the standard muffins, cereals, juices etc.

There appears to be excellent Wi-Fi coverage, but the speed seemed spotty and sometimes dial up slow via my iPhone as I was writing this review, so I switched over to my 3G connection. The place is about fully booked so it could be too many users on the hotspot. It seemed to vary with different speed tests at different times.

Overall, I can easily recommend this property. The desk staff was helpful and friendly with directions to the nearest Giant Food Center for the above mentioned discount ticket. The rooms were above average and easily accommodated the five of us. Even the bathroom was roomy. We would stay here again for the price point even if we were paying out of pocket. The more upscale properties in the area were priced significantly higher.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BenJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is not your typical hotel, it is family owned and they do go out of there way. The hotel is not new and does show some age but is clean, breakfast is good and the pool is very nice. I especially like that they have multiple rooms with 3 beds for larger groups so you dont need to get 2 rooms.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wposp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
610 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
523 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simplicity Inn Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simplicity Inn Hershey

Address: 43 W Areba Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1410
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range: $55 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Simplicity Inn Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Simplicity Inn Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Hershey
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Inn Hershey
Hershey Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing