We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”
Review of The Milton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Flanders, New York, United States
1 review
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this hotel for our family vacation, there were 7 of us traveling so we booked 2 rooms. After looking at the hotel photos (provided by them on their website) and the proximity to Hershey Park I chose this hotel.
This was hands down the oldest and dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Nothing like in the photos. The bathrooms were dirty and not completely operational ( shower heads spray all over the ceiling and walls) to the point that we didn't stand on the floor in the shower, we stood on washcloths to shower so our feet didn't touch the dirty tubs. The carpets were stained and not vacuumed once during our 3 night stay. My son's friend got a shock from plugging in his cell phone charger, the sinks didn't drain...nor did the tubs...the rooms were not cleaned just beds made. The list goes on and on which I will provide to upper management, but do your family a favor...stay somewhere else. On the bright side...DJ at the front desk was fantastic and was the ONLY bright spot of this hotel for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royaldancrsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzombro, General Manager at The Milton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your patronage and taking the time to comment regarding your stay. I want to first apologize about your experience. I am equally disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations as we have a team commitment to ensure every guest has a positive experience. I am truly sorry that we fell so far from our mark. I will personally address your comments with the entire team. I have also sent you a private message in regards to your stay. I look forward to personally speaking with you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    138
    129
    124
    138
See reviews for
387
90
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hughestown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for two nights. The service was great. All of the employees were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are large and they have big flat screen tvs. We were able to get coffee all day long which we really appreciated. The pool was great to be able to use over the hot weekend also!! They provide breakfast until 10am and it was great! There is a wide variety of breakfast items to choose from (I loved the blueberry muffins!! Yumm!) Simply put, our entire weekend was excellent. The location couldn't be better either!! Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This property is ideally located a hop and a skip away from Hershey Park. Shuttle service is available to the park throughout the day and evening. Room was clean and the beds comfortable. Outdoor pool is heated and well maintained. Continental breakfast included a great variety of fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and waffles made on the spot. Staff was really friendly and attentive. Upon check out, Jenesis (at the front desk) took the time to help us coordinate a brief visit to Lancaster! Over all great experience, will be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joinnamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We normally stay at the Heshey Lodge but its over priced and over rated. The biggest advantage was the free bus to the park. We had a great stay at this Best Western. The rooms were fine and they even include breakfast. Coffee was available for free all day and night. They do not offer free transportation to the park but it only cost $1.00 per person, can't beat that at all. No lines to park or trans to wait for. Stacy even called them to come for us and the 4 trips we made we were the only passengers, Again, Thank you Stacy for making our trip so pleasant. Rooms are clean, pool is really nice and the work out room has all new equipment. we will be back next time we visit the park!

Room Tip: Can't beat it for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzombro, General Manager at The Milton Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in regards to the hotel and Stacy. New this season is a local transportation company called Sweet Ride. I am happy that you used their services and found value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I booked this hotel because of its location. I cannot believe how horrible this experience was. The room was old. The frost on the freezer was so thick you knew it was not cleaned out in a long time. I was not able to figure out the shower in the bathroom. The curtains had no privacy curtain and as a result I did not feel safe there. My 8 yr old daughter begged for us to just leave. So instead of getting a good nights sleep I felt safer to just leave and eat the cost of the room. I would NEVER stay there again. I only live 3 hrs away but wanted a place to stay after a full day in Hershey. I learned my lesson to never stay in a hotel of which I do not know the brand.

Room Tip: Don't stay on ground floor. No privacy curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzombro, General Manager at The Milton Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your recent visit. We have a defrosting schedule in place however with the high occupancy levels in the last few weeks we have not been able to get to all of them. I assure you this has been addressed with the team and as soon as occupancy levels permit we will resume our normal schedule. We do have white blackout shades in all sleeping rooms. The shades are located directly behind the sheers. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Lindenhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We come from Lindenhurst New York and arrived here yesterday at 4:00 pm. We were greeted by "Brandi" at the front desk and found her to be extreamely informative, kind, and professional.
Her recomendation for dinner at "DUKE'S" bar & grill was the best. Food was Great, Price was right. When I went to make myself a cup of coffee before dinner Brandi was hanging up a sign
for the "Sweet Ride" shuttle to Hershey Park for ((( $1.00 ))) per person I decided we would not have to use the car for most of our stay. Parking at Hershey is $12.50 to $35.00 so that was a no brainer for us. When we came back from a wonderful day at Hershey Park, there was "Brandi" at the front once again, helping us with our activities for tomorrow. Again informative and curtious. Brandi should be commended for her work. Because of people like her and service like the sweet ride personel, we will be looking forward to returning next year, as well as enjoying the rest of our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzombro, General Manager at The Milton Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Inn Hershey. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Brandi provided you with superior customer care. I will be sure she gets the recognition she deserves. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I rented two rooms for two nights for a short visit to Hershey Park. This hotel has a great pool and the folks working there are very nice (I'm looking at you, Chuck and Elke :- ). The rooms are nice and clean (there was no damage like that shown in some other user photos). The breakfast goes until 10:00 am and includes a lot of free stuff, like toast, bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, etc. All in all, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Select a room in the "200" to be on the ground floor. We had rooms 217 and 219 (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gculliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzombro, General Manager at The Milton Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy to day to write a review of the Best Western Inn Hershey. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
551 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milton Hotel

Property: The Milton Hotel
Address: Rte 422 and Sipe Ave, Hershey, PA 17033 (Formerly Best Western Inn Hershey)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Milton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Milton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Hershey Hotel Hershey
Best Western Hotel Hershey
Best Western Hershey
Hershey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing