We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Theatre”
Review of Hershey Theatre

Hershey Theatre
Ranked #8 of 34 things to do in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Theatre”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very nice theatre. Has an old classical feel, seats were very close like many theatres. But good friendly people to help you if you have a question.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Latingirl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    70
    9
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“gorgeous theatre, grand experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hershey Theatre is a local mid-sized town theatre with play performances that almost competes with Broadway, of course, minus the excitement of New York. The architecture and decor takes you back to a time of grandeur, seating is comfortable and graduated so visability is good where ever you are. Have seen a number of plays including Hair, West Side Story and Peter Pan as well as musical concerts. Performances have been strong and thoroughly enjoyable. Ticket pricing is a good value. It's location in Hershey near Hershey Park and museums, sporting events, shopping etc. makes a trip to the area practical. Parking in easy, just across the street and free. There are a few Bed and Breakfasts in the area (Westwynd Farm is our favorite). We look forward to our next visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaLady2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular Venue for a Live Performance”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Hershey Theatre is among the very best places to watch a live concert, Broadway musical or other show. It is absolutely the best venue in Central PA and is one of the best in all of the United States. I have been coming to shows here for more than fifty years since I was a little kid. Since being refurbrished a few years ago it looks as good as when it opened in the 1930's.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank voyagerfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Hershey Theatre was a pleasant surprise. The theatre was beautiful. Every seat was a good seat for view and sound quality. The staff working were pleasant and helpful to my husband who had a recent knee replacement and needed some assistance. My only issue was the seats were rather close to each other. The theatre was a very clean environment, as were the restrooms.

Another negative was leaving the parking lot. Possibly a person directing the flow of traffic would make it less stressful. Everyone jammed to leave at the same time. Not being polite and doing the take a turn in all direction thing! This is certainly not the theatre's fault. But it is a suggestion.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre with great shows.”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We saw West Side Story tonight. The directing, choreography, performers and orchestra were all wonderful. Great night at the theatre.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomatopastePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hershey Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Hershey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing