We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Hersheypark Stadium
Ranked #17 of 34 things to do in Hershey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Averill Park
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Completely sold out concert for Farm Aid, lots of farmers and older folks there with absolutely no place to sit to get a bite to eat or get out of sun. Would not let us bring in seat back rests for a 12 hour concert so we were squeezed in like sardines on rock hard stadium seats in the blazng sun. Not enough bathrooms, concessions or lighting for a crowd of 50,000. A nightmare just to get a drink or something to eat. Waited in line for an hour to use a port-a-potty. Enough security for an Obama visit but they were very disorganized and inconsistant. Some people were allowed to bring in seat cushions, while others were denied. To leave and attend the farm village that was part of Farm Aid, was 10 times worse than going through an International Airport! I counted getting my ticket scanned SIX TIMES just to go into the Farm Village. This was all for a bunch of farmer types, mind you. Ugh! Never again. Hershey Stadium needs to step up its game!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nkAverillPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    72
    53
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Farm Aid 2012 Music Great but....Hershey Park Stadium cannot accomodate 29,000”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled to Farm Aid 2012 to support the cause and to listen to some great music. The music was terrific but the Venue was not! The facility was built to accomodate the people in the stands but not the thousands of seats added to the field. Having traveled several hours to Hershey, the group I was with had not eaten and was looking forward to some "home grown food", that didn't happen. The food and drink lines were so long that we would have missed most of the concert. The lack of adequate bathroom facilities and food and beverage vendors is something that the venue management really dropped the ball on. In addition, knowing the tickets we purchased were for bleacher seats I did some research on the Hershey Stadium website to see if stadium cushions were allowed and infact they were. When we arrived at the stadium we were denied entrance because the stadium cushions we purchased had a back that was supported by metal and therefore had to be checked at will call for a two dollar fee per chair. We left the concert early and all in our group vowed never to return to Hershey Park Stadium.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stadium seating”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I was at the stadium for Farm Aid. Although it may be a great venue for smaller shows, for Farm Aid with approx 30k people, it was entirely inadequate. I appreciate the flexibility of the venue. It was nice to sit in the sunshine too.

Helpful?
Thank Cornerturned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not As Bad As Expected”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just experienced Farm Aid, a day long concert at Hershey Stadium. I can see why people attending this venue for a single show at a specific time would hate it. We arrived a bit early than many and could park in the stadium lot. So traffic/parking not an issue for us. BUT a little tip I learned is to park in the closest shopping center, hop a fence and walk over from there.

The facility itself is so dated. I imagine the only thing it's any good for is sports. The sound system for Farm Aid was pretty good, though, except for one performer who was too low to hear well, so was that the production or the venue? The big screen monitors saved the day. We were on the floor about half way back on the right and the stage was completely obscured unless you stood up. Watching the monitors was great.

I felt sorry for the bleacher people having to sit there for hours. Must have been torture. The crappy folding floor chairs wired tied together weren't great but better than a metal bench with no back. So in that sense, the floor is better. For actually seeing the stage though, you either have to be close or in the bleachers.

Not enough bathrooms or porta potties. Long, long lines at each one. They did handle the trash very well. There were trash and recycling bins everywhere and none were left overfilled.

Security was VERY lax, it seemed to me, and people were allowed to stand anywhere they wanted. After a while, they just seemed to give up. Our entire row (F66) was blocked by people just standing in the front aisle who would not move. It became so irritating that we left before the end of the show because no one was telling them to keep moving which created a big traffic jam with beer spilling and stepping on feet. Terrible!

So, eh, it was okay. The concert itself was really good but the venue, not so much. Not very well equipped to handle 29,000.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank visualgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience at Farm Aid”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just had the worst experience at Farm Aid! The musicians/bands and cause were awesome! Everything else was horrible. It was at least an hour wait for EVERYTHING! I am glad to see that others posted about this too! It was way overcrowded to the point that something serious could have happened. We waited in line for a beer at one of the inside vending areas (no speakers to hear the concert going on). They had only ONE cashier for beer for this vendor. It was like this for all beer stands! Please realize that there were over 29,000 people there!!!! Hello!?!?! The area was complete chaos, lines couldn't be determined. They had very little security. One security officer had a problem with two drunk guys, he kept asking the food vendor to call for additional backup and they never showed up. BUT, they did have a person guarding each trash can to make sure we threw away trash in the appropriate bins. Food, over an hour to get. Bathroom lines, over an hour. Water, over an hour to get. 99% of people attending were very friendly...it was the Hershey Park Ampitheatre's lack of management that made it a horrible experience. Would never recommend ANYONE attend a concert here!!!! We also ended up leaving due to the overcrowding and chaos. Very unsafe!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank webdzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hersheypark Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Hersheypark Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing