We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids; Average for adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Forebay

The Forebay
Reserve with OpenTable
The Forebay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University Drive
Description: Creative comfort food, including premium steaks, seafood, and pastas, served in a cozy loft setting.
Philly area
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for kids; Average for adults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Normally we don't choose a restaurant that is ranked so low on the TripAdvisor listing. However, we chose this restaurant exclusively because we wanted the kids to have a really nice dinner. They usually are relegated to fairly standard kids menus when what they truly want is smaller portions of the adult menus. This place seemed to cater to our kids perfectly with their smaller portions of adult food kids menu.

The food was good, but not great. My rockfish was done perfectly but the risotto side that came with it was very pasty. My wife's was just OK as well. Kid's steak was good, but pricey (4 oz. filet for $18). We were happy to pay this for the reasons we mentioned above, but just pointing it out....

Drinks were pretty good. Good dirty and dessert martinis.

Service was average. Ambiance was average. Basically average....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Late30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    55
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've passed the Forebay on each previous visit but never ventured in. We are glad we finally did. The menu is great, and although it could be pricey, it was a very nice dining experience. The kid's menu has many healthy options and good choices. We started with the signature chocolate martini (strong and tasty). The bread basket was a treat - soft Bavarian pretzels. For menu choices, we had burgers and a short rib sandwich. I would like to go back for a burger soon. The place is small, dark, and intimate. We went at 5:00 because we had a game to get to, and at that time, the service was great and the meal was timed well. Can't wait to return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drkarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Christmas night dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were two couples with 2 8 year olds having a Christmas dinner together. The restaurant is small but nice. Variety on the menu for everyone. Our waitress was a bit slow at times but had a good disposition. Portions for some things were on the small side (3 jumbo shrimp for the shrimp cocktail for $12, BBQ bacon wrapped diver scallops - $25 for 3 with some sweet potato fries and veggies) but were very good in taste. Dinner took almost 2 hours and the restaurant was not very busy. A waitress walking by with the complimentary pretzels and mustard somehow knocked the spoon from the mustard out of the bowl and it hit me and splattered mustard down the back of my arm and my coat. Staff quickly responded with wet paper towels. I was checked on by our waitress a few minutes later. We would dine here again when we visit Hershey.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I always eat here. The kids menu is GREAT and not just typical BORING kitty food. Quite honestly, I find some of these reviews ridiculous and just an obvious attempt to try to bash an excellent restaurant. Either that or your taste and quality leaves something to be desired. Anyway, we have been here NUMEROUS times and everything has been fantastic every time. The staff is exceptional and so is the food. If you do not want to spend money here, go to a cheaper place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hershey is not a fine dining town--Forebay is your best option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visit Hershey a couple of times a year just for a quick and local getaway. Hershey is a fun kid-friendly town but seriously lacks fine dining. (The focus is more on kid-friendly restaurants). Forebay in the Hershey Lodge is basically the only place in which adults can have some fine dining options. We ate there last weekend. My husband chose the German inspired seasonal menu, which was a sampling of soup, entree, and dessert for 30 dollars--a very good price and enjoyable. I had the pumpkin ravioli w/ duck sausage which was also tasty. My son had a filet which was ridiculously overpriced at 40+ dollars. The best restaurants in Philly charge that. Forebay is overpriced because they have a monopoly on the fine dining biz in Hershey. Just keep that in mind when you go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forebay also viewed

 

Been to The Forebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing