We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Yet A Bit Sterile”
Review of Giant Center

Giant Center
Ranked #8 of 34 things to do in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid, Yet A Bit Sterile”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have seen hockey games and concerts at this venue. It is solid, with good viewing lines and comfortable seating. The food is a bit pricey (but what do you expect at an arena). Only complaint is that the facility is a bit "sterile," with no real "character" or interesting features. Nit-picky, for sure, but a bit bothersome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DriverFor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    91
    36
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice customer service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went in January to see the comedian Jeff Dunham and it was great. Granted we paid more attention to the show but even when entering, ordering drinks, and leaving we were treated great. After we had to wait for a cab and the security was nice enough to let us out of the cold and wait. It had to have been 20 minutes and I cant imagine if we had to stand outside when it was in the teens.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buffy0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Arena....”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were here for a Disney on Ice show. The arena is nice, very clean, and I found the staff to be above average. We had no trouble with parking, and our seats were great. They also have bathrooms and food on the floor level which is nice compared to other arenas I have been to.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pretty good place to see a show or game. I still miss the "old barn" but the Giant Center isn't bad for hockey. Good Sight lines from just about any seat. (I actually think it's better to watch from the upper level). Staff is pretty good, food is pricey, but not any more than another arena, and most of it is actually pretty good as well as a good variety. I've see several concerts there, very good place for a show.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AAAMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Place for Hockey”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been to the Giant Center for various events, but by far this is a great place to watch a hockey game. I’ve always found the staff to be helpful and accommodating; happy to get you seated and help in any way.
We have gone to some concerts at the arena, and depending on where you sit, it is not the greatest. In my opinion it is much more conducive to hockey or basketball games.
If you can do it, try the Champion’s Club tickets. The seats are great, and it includes a special entrance to the seating sections, section only bathrooms and concessions. It is a few dollars more, but the convenience and comfort makes it worth it.
The 200 level seats are farther away and high in the area, but still a lot of great views of the game, once you get over the vertigo.
The downsides are the high parking fees ($12.00) is way too much, and concession prices. There is a lot of variety on the concessions – wings to salads but it is pricey. If you are going to more than one game or event, consider buying the souvenir refillable cup. Soda refills are only $1.00 – if you go to a couple of games it is well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfamily1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Center also viewed

 

Been to Giant Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing