We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out”

Troegs Brewing Company
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tröegs Brewing Company was founded by Chris and John Trogner. Since 1997, the brothers have been handcrafting world-class beers that combine traditional English brewing techniques with the eclecticism of new American brewing. While only available in the Mid-Atlantic region, Tröegs Brewery is known nationwide for their award-winning Troegenator Double Bock, highly-desirable seasonal releases like Nugget Nectar and The Mad Elf, and brewery-only beers like the Scratch and Splinter series. Tröegs Brewery in Hershey, Pennsylvania provides guests with a complete brewing experience. The brewhouse is located in a 5,000 square foot tasting room that opens onto a beer garden. Visitors are able to observe the brewing process firsthand, and take a self-guided tour along a window-lined hallway for a close-up view of the entire brewery.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After marathon outlet shopping, this is a fun place to relax, get a bite to eat. The sampler beer tray is $7.00 and we shared one. It totals about 24 ounces. Good way to find your favorite and by the end of the sampling, I liked them all! Food is a it pricey for the quantity but the quality is good. We opted for the local cheese tray but it would have been nice to know what each was. In good weather, the outside seating would be fun with a group. Self guided tour was interesting and they sell cases.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Marketing Media Coordinator at Troegs Brewing Company, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi Carole -

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to Tröegs Brewery. We're glad you enjoyed your beers and overall experience at the brewery. I forwarded your comments to our Tasting Room/Snack Bar manager to see if it is possible to inform guests regarding the types of cheese on the Artisanal Cheese Plate. Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    119
    25
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A good time”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had 3 samples of beer for $5. Also, ate from the cafe. Good food. Took the self-guided tour. Would have liked a tour guide better. Nice placed to kill an hour or so. Lots of business people coming to relax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I've never been impressed”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I think this place is just kind of a buzz/hip place to hang out because there's nothing like it within an hour or so (I'm not putting this in the same category as abc or Lancaster).

Personally, i think the prices are steep (which i expect, hence average rating), and I think hops dominate this brewery as a whole. If the brew isn't hoppy, it's likely to heavy/dark for my liking. I know people love this place and the beer, but I've never been impressed.

Helpful?
Thank SedoneStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great craft beer but oh so strong”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fantastic beer and ok food (but hey who goes here for the food??). My only criticism is the beer is so strong that after 3 or 4 pints you cant drive - but the food tastes great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Brewery For Tasting”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is awesome. You'll never experience a brewery visit like this one. Soooooo, much better than their old location in Harrisburg. Troegs made the smart move and invested wisely. Can't wait for their next scratch beer.....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troegs Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Troegs Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing