We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moving here now”

Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional ice cream parlor combined with a cafe style restaurant featuring pizza, authentic Philly steaks, subs and salads. Also open for breakfast Saturday and Sunday
1 review
“Moving here now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the best service that we have had in a long long time. Great food, service was perfect. Owner / cook checked the tables. They were wonderful. Go here now. Run don't walk.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    84
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Coconut, Almond Chocolate Chip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Go here and get Ice Cream....

Try the Kitchen Sink or a scoop or two of Coconut, Almond and Chocolate Chip!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephenL875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't be in a hurry if you stop here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the second time we stopped at Phillip Arthur's in the past three years. It doesn't appear to have changed much--the food is okay, and the service very slow at what could be considered peak times.

We stopped here on at 6:45 on the evening of a concert at the Hershey Theater (it's only a few blocks away), having about 35 minutes to get something to eat before heading back to the theater to take our seats. The ordering line looked short (there were three customers in front of us) so we figured there wouldn't be a time crunch. Were we ever wrong.

Even with only three customers ahead of us, the line moved incredibly slow...it took almost 15 minutes for our turn to order. Even with only three in our party, food delivery took another 10 minutes, which included getting replacement of some incorrect items. That didn't leave us much time to enjoy the food.

As other reviewers have said, this place is small (tucked between two building) and has a parking lot to match. If you drive here, don't even think about parking in the lot. There is only one way in and out onto Chocolate Avenue and there is barely enough room to turn around. Watching drivers trying to navigate the lot was in itself a form of entertainment. Parking somewhere else and walking is highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongrel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pguarno, Owner at Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I'm sorry but on a theatre night there is no food in a hurry. Because of the ordering style it may not appear busy but there were orders ahead of you. Since it is a cafe with order cook and serve and only 4 people on staff they are all working hard to get the food out. But on theatreeect to spend 30-40 minutes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

After walking around Hershey and visiting Hershey Story Museum cross the stret and get an ice cream treat!! Thie sub a pretty good too!! Kids will really like the place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuzzball6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This little place on Chocolate Avenue in Hershey has a BIG appeal for its quality of food and hometown service. My family loved going there for ice-cream and then returned for meals. Our server Justin was great and genuinely welcoming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing