We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many frustrations” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Many frustrations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room had an odor and they turned off the air conditioning (our attempt to freshen the room). There was hair on the towels. I cleaned the hair out of the drain. There is no clock, no hairdryer, no iron in the room. The area to hang clothes is occupied by the table and chairs. There is an envelope on the stand with "Housekeeping tips appreciated" written on it - tacky, and unjustifiable. The main entry door doesn't latch unless you turn around and pull it shut. There are many visible places where repairs are needed in the entry way and hallways. The "complimentary coffee in the lobby" is coffee in a thermos with powdered creamer. There isn't enough parking. I had to park in the grass. I was charged an extra fee for my second child, negating any good price found on internet websites. **My children didn't feel comfortable in this hotel.**

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmIC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    17
    17
    30
See reviews for
72
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The shower wasnt very good it was a hose basically.Thats what it look like.The toilet paper had spackle on it and the shower/tub had stuff in the corners.The t.v. froze at night and the beds dont look as attractive to sleep on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellamia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for the review but sorry to disappoint you on the prices. If you have never traveled to Hershey PA you are in for a surprise on the hotel rates. We are one of the most economically priced Inns in Hershey, almost half of what other hotels charge in town sometimes. But that doesn't compare to areas like Florida or Georgia where you can find high end rooms for cheap rates. This is Hershey, PA and always expect to pay a lot for little. The room you stayed in is perfectly fine. The shower head is as standard in all other hotels as well as the beds are Elevated Platform beds as per European Style standards. Next time you can stay at one of our conventional Country Style rooms. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hershey hotels

new jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Ok. So thank god we only needed a room for 1 night as we stopped here pn our way to lancaster. booked this online going off the reviews on here. Mistake!
We had an exterior 'european room' whatever that means. this place looks nothing like pictures. property is dirty. Pool is filthy. Rooms are the most disgusting things ever. Bathrooms had what looked like old dried feces on tub and floor. Shower filthy. im just thankful our rooms had pergo floors as i cant imagine the rooms with carpets. Spider webs everwhere. Broken screens, the area itself is very shady. I believe this is also a place of rssidence for welfare. People live here. The white rose looked nice and right down street. Do not stay here. They have a 12 yr old checking us in. Then The night worker, spanish girl was smoking and drinking and looked like she was having sex with her boyfriend as our room was across from the office. And they would come outside our room to smoke

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dp2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel with my 10 yo daughter and her friend on a visit to Hershey Park. We enjoyed the pool when we arrived in the afternoon.The room was nice but there were no drawers/dressers to store your clothes which I found odd. The safety chain on the door was also broken. It was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The staff was very nice especialy Bree who provided excellent service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank patty782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

While the rooms were a little dated, they were clean and the staff was friendly. We were looking for an affordable hotel near Hershey Park and thi hotel fit the bill. The beds were very comfortable which was needed after 2 long days in the park.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearneysville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went on a much needed family vacation and we stayed here because it was the cheapest place we could find on our budget. They remodeled everything and it looks good only had one problem on the night before we left and that was the AC stopped working in the middle of the night but i told the manager and he put us into another room the next day, thanks. Also we had some other guest that were very rude and loud and didn't care about others there but other then that we had a great time and loved staying there will see them again next year. If you are on a budget for vacation or any reason this would be the place to stay. Very nice people who own it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotels around Hershey area are usually expensive , this motel has reasonable price....

The owners are husband and wife .. both very friendly, accomodating and nice...

Expedia made a mistake for the second time on our hotel booking of 1 king size bed and 1 double bed for 3 guests,, instead Expedia gave me 1 queen size bed for 3 people.... The owner exchanged our room to accomodate us with 2 double size bed...enough for 3 people....without extra cost...

The room is clean, with newly painted walls and carpeting, new dresser drawer, neat and efficient.. although no hair dryer was included and no closet.... bathtub is equipped with non-skid mat for safety and water flow for shower is very strong except the toilet which took a longer time to flush.

We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Cocoa Country Inn and it is also very close to Hershey Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNJAPONAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#16 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Hershey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Property: Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Address: 1518 E Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated Inn! We upgraded to new furniture in 2016 and large TVs in all rooms. Featuring all NON-SMOKING ROOMS! We offer an Outdoor Pool with a large deck. Diamond Award Winner. Just 1.2 miles from Hershey attractions!! Hershey Park visitors family favorite! Microwave and Refrigerators in all rooms, FREE Morning Coffee, FREE WiFi in all rooms, Coffee Makers, Irons, Ironing Boards, and Hair Dryers are some of the amenities we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Country Inn And Suite At Hershey
Cocoa Country Inn & Suite At Hershey Hotel Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing