We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but small”

ZooAmerica North American Wildlife Park
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Hershey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small zoo in Hershey Park featuring animals native to North America.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Cute but small”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The zoo is cute, but it’s small with limited animals. It took only 45 minutes to see & observe everything. Unfortunately, the adorable marten pictured on the flyer was no where in sight. I’m glad I only paid half-price for a Friday admission as the full price would not have been worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    306
    201
    64
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg,PA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small, but full of rewarding moments”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you are looking for a zoo that focuses on American animals, this one's for you. We visited zooamerica at Hershey in January and had a wonderful time -- even in the cold! Arrive early for fantastic views and fewer people. We started outdoors and caught glimpses of all the animals. The lynx alone is worth the trip because you can get very close. We especially liked the wolves, who paced back and forth across their enclosure, then settled on top of a rock. We have been before and find new delights every time. Caveats: this is a trip that enables you to read and interpret the signs yourself. You will see zoo personnel, but they do not put on shows; the animals are the show. You can go through once, then go back to your favorites. Bring quarters to buy food to feed the ducks. Inside, the roseate spoonbills are very friendly and make great phot opportunities! Enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fairville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Half price in the winter is worth it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We are members of our local zoo and we are offered 50% off the entrance fee to this zoo. We have been to this zoo a few times before in the summer / warmer weather. We love it. It's small and a much more intimate experience. Even on a cold day we saw plenty of animals in both the indoor and outdoor exhibits. Don't go expecting a major city zoo, but enjoy some exotic wildlife and a nice walk. Very friendly and helpful staff. CLEAN!!! Animals seemed well cared for and happy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North caldwell
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the time spent there”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This "zoo" is very small- there were not many animals. Nothing exciting. The 'biggest' attraction there is the bear exhibit- and he was hibernating. Kind of a disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Zoo America for $5.50 on Fridays is great!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Until mid-March admission has dropped to $5.50 per person for Zoo America. It is perfect for a chilly stroll through a small, welcoming zoo. Bring food/snacks for little ones and gloves for all. The relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff are worth it. No crowds, and best of all the North American animals love the weather! Most are active and delightful to observe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fulgulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZooAmerica North American Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to ZooAmerica North American Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing