We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simmons Motel and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn at the Park(Hershey)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Hershey(Hershey)(Great Value!)
$92
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$152
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Hershey(Hershey)(Great Value!)
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Rose Motel(Hershey)(Great Value!)
$80
$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
31
33
30
14
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
33
30
14
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancegrandma's househershey parkbasic needsgreat place to staythe location is perfectdonutsshort drivechocolate worldbeds were comfortablewhitneyclosenesstoiletriesstadiumcvsattractionsqueen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 134 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

In addition to being filthy, shabby, and noisy, this dump DID NOT HAVE 3-PRONGED OUTLETS with the grounding slot for modern electronics, so I could not charge any of my electronics--computer, phone, etc. Person living (?) under my room was smoking, which did not help. Very creepy location right next to an abandoned industrial property. Doors very unsecure. Outdoor walkways smelled like pet urine. Felt like I was in my grandmother's apartment in 1950, only worse.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My experience with Simmons Motel has been wonderful! I always stay at Simmons because it is a great value and you can't beat the location! Walking distance to many restaurants and to Hersheypark and Chocolate World!! The rooms are always clean and the staff is very friendly & helpful. I recommend Simmons Motel to all my friends & family and we will stay there for years to come!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlm725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My family and I came to Hershey, PA to visit family friends... In the past we stayed with my wife's in-laws however due to other arrangements we needed a hotel room. My wife had been looking for places for us to stay in downtown Hershey and had decided to book at the Simmons Motel. We checked out the website and the pictures were appealing and there was a friendly, warm ambiance. From what it appeared....

We pulled into the Simmons Motel, with a reservation, last weekend. The first sighting was a loud, arrogant man smoking and screaming at one of his employees. The tone of his voice scared my daughter that when he asked us if we were coming to stay at the motel my daughter started to cry. My family and I were standing at the desk and could hear the man screaming on his cell phone and swearing and then he came in and checked us in and was friendly.... and jittery. My wife and I were disappointed with the first impression however we decided to just tough it out because we came to Hershey to see our friends.

We entered the room... the sheets had hairs on them and there were stains on them, if that wasn't disgusting enough, we walked into the bathroom to find towels that were used before that we were expected to use. The one hand towel had a brown residue on it. EVERYTHING ABOUT OUR ROOM WAS ABSOLUTELY UNSANITARY. There was trash in the trashcan from the previous people that had stayed in the room, the air conditioning did not work, the tv volume was weak and the room was dirty.

My wife and I decided we could not stay here and that we were going to go to the Days Inn across the street. I went downstairs to ask for a refund from the manager and he was no where to be found, I used the telephone to try and reach him and after calling 5 or 6 times he finally came to the desk... with a drink in his hand.

He started screaming at me and rambling off about 50 different things and making excuses for the dirty room. My family and I had been at the motel for less than 3 hours and he said that because we used the room we would be responsible for the costs. I told him we never used the beds and had told him about all of the disgusting filth in the room and he said he could put us into a different room. I told him I did not want to be in any room owned by this affiliation because it was unsanitary and he started swearing and hollering that there is no refund. So my wife and I had to pay the empty-headed drunk man over $200 bucks.

The motel is run by a CHINTZY business man looking for a quick dollar. Point blank. DO NOT GO HERE, YOU WILL BE SORRY. You are better off spending an extra 20 bucks across the street!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliwhitney, Manager at Simmons Motel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

I am not sure why these people posted what they did on Trip Adviser, but we had no one stay here from where they say. How can they post a bad review when they did not even check in or stay here, being in the lobby for 5 minutes says nothing about our rooms and the cleanliness of them. I am the new Manager of the property I took over in July 2011 and I can gaurentee you our rooms are very clean and very nice like the pictures show on the web site. We are not listed on the Bed Bug Registry so that shows are rooms are very well kept and clean. saying the place should be condemed is crossing the line, Yes the building were built in the 1900's and they are old but they are very well maintained. As far as the owner goes he has not yelled or cused out any customers at all. We treat our customers with the utmost respect and dignaty that they deserve and we provid the top quality customer service.

The Manager of Simmons Motel and Suites Hershey, PA
Thomas Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This motel is the most disquisting place I have ever seen. The room was filthy, smelled like urine and the comforter had brown/blood stains. The carpet is the old shag type and is very filthy. The refrig/microwave were gross and were dirty. Upon arriving, the male desk clerk was hanging outside smoking with a buddy and did not give us a comfortable feeling at all. Creepy. They tell you that they offer breakfast, which if you call breakfast a brown skinned banana and some type of cookie, along with orange juice that was still sitting on the "breakfast table" at 2 pm.; you go right ahead and eat it..Hershey Medical Center is close by! I seriously would be afraid of catching bedbugs or some other type of contagious disease as this place is extremly run down and filthy. We left and did not spend the night. Five minutes at this "hole" was enough. It needs to be condemned.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room. This place is horrible.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank dsmonkey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

There may have been a time before the Internet when you could buy a few houses, put up a "vacancy" sign and make a lot of money. 

This doesn't work anymore; now folks can find out about you in advance. I'm not a hotel professional but have these opinions:
- sheets have to be clean and new. Mysterious stains are disgusting. 
- there can't be long human hairs in the towels. Wear a hair net while working. 
- insecticide is your friend. 
- don't have meetings in the parking lot where you criticize the cleaning staff. Your guests know already because they have the Internet. 
- charge 25% the Days Inn across the street instead of nearly full price. 

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews