We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The plain truth about the White Rose Motel”
Review of White Rose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Rose Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The plain truth about the White Rose Motel”
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The White Rose Motel is an excellent choice for both those on a budget and for those who simply watch their money. I just returned from a stay at this motel for 4 nights. My total bill came out to (including tax) $527.56 which inlcuded 2 queen beds. The price was great compared to the more elaborate hotels such as Hotel Hershey which ran $400/night to that of The Herhshey Lodge which ran $279/night plus tax. The other hotels mentioned are of greater size and offer restaurants on the premises along with inside and outside swimming pools and some kiddie things to do. However, the White Rose Motel was extremely clean, had an outdoor swimming pool which was somewhat heated and the staff was more than helpful with information on what to do. FYI: you can get discount tickets with a free parking pass at GIANT, the grocery store in town. Also, the best breakfast, lunch and dinner place almost walking distance to the White Rose Motel is The Hershey Pantry. Excellent food, large portions at very reseaonable prices. Breakfast/lunch is around $6-8 and dinner around $10-15. Take a left out of the motel and it's right past the Getty Gas Station on your right. All in all, I would definately stay at the White Rose Motel again. Very clean, very reasonable, and very close to everything. Why pay astronomical prices elswewhere especially when traveling with children when you can spend the extra on something more meaningful than a bed.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank THEPLAINTRUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    172
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
332
109
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

After staying at many different places in Hershey, I must say that the White Rose Motel comes out on top. The room was clean, fully functional and the check-in staff was friendly, warm and cordial.
Keep in mind that we selected this motel due to the proximity to Hershey Park. We spent all day at the park and did not get home until after 10:00pm. The pool looked inviting but we did not get a chance to use it. This is a place that will get my return business.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jp_xyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My family and I stayed at the White Rose motel for one night in conjunction with a stop in Hershey to visit Hershey Park. We stayed in one of the cottages. The place was immaculate and well decorated (I think the rooms recently painted). The check in was as efficient as any I’ve experienced. The kids loved the outdoor pool (a nice change from stuffy indoor hotel pools). The staff does shut the pool down during any hint of thunderstorms. We shopped at the local Giant Supermarket (where you buy your discounted Park tickets and parking pass, a killer deal btw) and made heavy use of the cottage’s kitchen so we did not have to experience any Hershey dining either in the park or outside of it. We loved the cottage’s two bedrooms, we were able to put the kids to bed early and stay up for a while later, a nice change from hotel rooms. The cottage was pricey ($245 per night,
versus much lower rates for the motel’s rooms), but if you can swing it, I highly recommend staying. The extra money will be offset by not spending money eating out. The staff’s directions and advice about Hershey Park was very helpful. The motel is not big on fancy bathroom stuff (shampoo and soap, etc.); if that’s important to you, bring your own stuff.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OOBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Where do I begin...

Our fun trip to Hershey began with a fun day at Hershey Park. We reserved a room at the White Rose based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms are clean, staff is helpful, polite, and just plain old American hospitality.

We had car trouble (our key broke in half). The owners Mr. & Mrs. Grimm were nothing less than heaven sent for our family. They ensured that we did not feel lost or helpless. They drove us to a couple locksmiths and after everyone in the area was closed and could not help - they used their own AAA service to get help.

They drove us to Hershey Park and back and long story short... I don't know what we would have done without them. Our children keep talking about how awesome Mr. & Mrs. Grimm were. I am so glad we did not stay at one of the bigger hotels as the White Rose has service and care that will warm any big city person's heart.

Hershey is a great town to visit! Visit the White Rose Motel!!!! Our family certainly will as they will be in our hearts forever. Thank you!!!!

  • Liked — Room and staff
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank WhiteRoseIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We chose this motel because the review said it was clean, and with two small children, that is very important to us. We stayed in ealry August of 2006. The motel was nice and clean. The rooms were a little small, but were very well equipped. Our room had the standard iron, haridryer, etc. It also had a refridgerator and microwave which was so convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was clean. It was also reasonably priced. The decor was a little out-dated, but who cares if it is clean and in good shape!

  • Liked — Relatively inexpensive and clean.
  • Disliked — Small room.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2007

The motel is, of course, a little mom and pop owned place. We missed it the first time we drove down the street and had to make a U turn. From the outside, it looks like just another roadside motel but don't let that fool you though!!

The motel is located about 5 or 10 minutes from the park and is perfectly located in between the good restaurants.

The owners were very kind and helped us with directions, offered us resaurant recommendations, and gave us coupons for the park (we didn't use them though because we pre-purchased military discounted tickets).

There was ample parking, even though it may not look like it, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. The room was not lavishly decorated, but why would you need that when you are just sleeping there? Housekeeping came every day that we were there; we received fresh towels and our beds were made.

The beds were comfortable with average motel bedding and we had enough space to lay out each of our suitcases. My friend and I were exhausted from walking around the the park and all we wanted that night was to sleep. That's exactly what we were able to do. We found that the sink was conveniently located just outside of the bathroom (with plenty of counterspace for cosmetics, blowdryer, toothbrushes, etc.) There was a small fridge which came in handy and microwave. There are hangers for shirts and pants which came in handy as well (no iron - you will have to ask for it).

The pool is clean and very well hidden from the road. Since the motel is right along a major road, you would think that the noise from the cars would bother you, or that they could see you, but the foliage is well landscaped to keep the two worlds apart. There were days when we had the pool to ourselves, or there was perhaps one or two other people there. (A pool is one of the first things I actually consider when I look into booking a hotel). There are towels provided at the pool so don't take your room towels.

The motel has menu's from the local restaurants which we found helpful. We recommend Duke's for lunch or dinner, and breakfast at the Hershey Pantry (a little pricey and there is a wait sometimes, but it's worth it!). We didn't like Funks and warn you to stay away. The food was terrible! Also, if you want to eat at a more contemporary or chain restaurant, we recommend Houlihan's (the food is average, the drinks are expensive, but the place is modern and hip).

We spent one day at the Hershey Spa, wandering around the hotel and using their pool. We wanted to stay at the Hershey Hotel initially, but were so glad we didn't. The White Rose is such a bargain and we could have paid three times that to stay at the Hershey Hotel which just seemed, although beautiful, but rather unimpressive when we looked around. The grounds are beautifully landscaped (there were many weddings the day we were there) and the hotel is beautiful as well, but the rooms were only average (and way overpriced). The indoor pool was crowded, although warm, and the outdoor pool was very crowded. We used the pools because we were patrons of the spa, but I don't think we would have missed much if we weren't able to use them.

We loved the spa and would highly recommend it! The hot chocolate they serve is unbelievably and delicious! The esthetician's are nice and very professional. The spa is beautiful and we were so glad we saved money by staying at the White Rose so that we could spend it at the spa!

Bottom line: The White Rose is worth the money and we would stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location, and pool
  • Disliked — It's kind of weird that it's right on the main road.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PermanentTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallingford ,ct
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

after reading the
many sparkling reviews of the white rose my
husband and i decided to give it a try. in fairness we have never stayed at a budget type hotel and usually stay at well known chains or bed and breakfast type inns. the white rose motel was clean and basically comfortable. the room was on the larger side and had a mid sized fridge and newer microwave and good sized tv.the bathroom was about average. the staff were helpful and frankly the best thing we can say about the white rose is that the owners are very willing to direct their guests to the right places.
however,we were disappointed with the guest room
decor which we found to be dark and drab.the rooms really could use some updating.the window curtain in our room would not shut completely allowing the outside lights to stream in all night. the door on the inside of our room had
been touched up many times in various shades of white paint which gave the room an air of shabbiness.we also had a problem with the water pressure and temperature in the shower. the toiletries were less than adequate. all in all for the money the white rose is a fairly decent motel and is very close to all
attractions. but i honestly don't see what all the hoopla is about. we would only stay at the white rose again if the vacation budget were tight.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank vbreeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Property: White Rose Motel
Address: 1060 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#3 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated small motel. #2 Traveler rated property in Hershey. Known for our VERY CLEAN ROOMS. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing