We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Run Motel”
Review of White Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rose Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Nice Family Run Motel”
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at the White Rose overnight after going to a concert at the Hershey Arena. The motel was a very neat and clean, family run business. The room was comfortable, with cable TV, and good A/C. The beds were also in good shape and were very comfortable. We were most impressed with the the owners - nice people that clearly loved what they did and it showed. They also told us the best place to park and walk to the arena so we could avoid the traffic when leaving the concert. Will definately go back to the White Rose when we visit Hershey again.

  • Liked — Freindly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Orencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    160
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
311
106
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We checked in late on a Sunday night, and the phone was ringing and it was storming outside, the lady at the desk handed me a registration card and the key to my room and told me to fill it out, and come back later to pay, or wait and pay when I checked out, she then proceeded to answer the phone, and then run out in the storm to close the pool and make sure nothing blew away. I was impressed in this day and age that she trusted me to come back to pay for my room. I went to my room and got my stuff unloaded. The room is a little old fashioned, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. I went back over to the office a little later to pay, and asked about Hershey Park, she told me about a local grocery store that sold tickets at a discount and gave me directions on how to get there, turns out they were also giving a coupon to pay fro parking, so I saved enough money on my tickets to pay for a night at the motel! The stay was uneventful, we enjoyed the pool, and the wireless internet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — No food close by
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrksanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My family of five just stayed in Room 7. Our stay was as pleasant as it could be. The staff was extremely friendly and the morning free coffee was fun. We had fun meeting other travelers. The field in the back was perfect for children-even has fireflies. The pool was so refreshing after a long, hot, crowded day at HersheyPark!!! Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyoffiveward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port jefferson station, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

i just came back from hershey and we stayed at the white rose motel. this is our third time staying there. very clean motel. just minutes from hershey park. staff is very friendly.

  • Liked — very clean and close to hershey park
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DisneyDawn1012
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had stayed at the White Rose Motel and I was pretty disappointed in my stay especially after reading all of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. We had gotten an upstairs room, which was SOOO SMALL! There was a large spider web on the door frame that my husband had walked into. The room itself was pretty clean. The beds were VERY uncomfortable and lumpy. The bathroom was extremely small and upon our arrival we had found little hairs in the bottom of our bath tub. The bathroom reminded me of one that you would find in a jail cell. The towels were sooo hard that my son had gotten a rash after using them and the towels also reaked of bleach. The most obvious "luxury" of this motel is the convience of it's location. Everything else down to the pool right on the main road pretty much is what you would expect from a one star motel. The staff was sooo rude and unhelpful. The owner kept making nasty comments to us. It seemed as if everything you did bothered them. Definately not what I would expect from their very proudly advertised "family owned" motel. I can't even say you get what you pay for in this case because we paid what you would pay for a much nicer hotel that could come with some more benefits and amenties than a pool that is on a main road and stale coffee. Please just do yourself a favor and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE !!!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyDawn1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Tired of cookie cutter, bland chain motels? Then this is the place for you. It was a refreshing step back in time for our family when we recently stayed here for 3 nights. It is a friendly, family run operation and they do a great job making you feel at home. The room, while not luxurious (please keep your expectations in check), was extremely clean and functional. Probably one of the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen in a motel room. And this may sound silly, but the bathroom had a window. I can't remember the last time I stayed in any place where the bathroom had a window. It made it seem brighter and airier. The fridge came in handy big time and was larger than average. Used the free coffee pot every morning. If you didn't feel like fixing it yourself the motel provided free coffee downstairs every day. Didn't use the microwave but I could see where it would be handy. The pool was not large but we had it to ourselves almost every day which made it feel like our private pool. The motel provided diving sticks and rings and those float noodles which was a nice touch. If you like to pull your car right up to your room then this is another great feature at this motel. And, sometimes, when I stay in a hotel room with no balcony I feel trapped. But at the White Rose Motel, every room has a chair and table right outside your door for sitting and relaxing and watching the world go by. I loved that part about the motel. Good, solid, unpretentious accomodations and probably one of the best bargains in Hershey!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawn3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I normally like to stick to "name brand" hotels because with privately owned motels, you never seem to know exactly what you're going to get. After reading the reviews on this website about the White Rose, and seeing the prices the other hotels were charging, I decided to take a chance and booked two nights for my family. We were very, very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spectacularly clean - not so much as a stray hair anywhere. The beds were comfy and the refrigerator and microwave were a nice touch. The pool was a decent size and clean, and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. After spending $11 for a hot dog platter in the Park, it's nice to see there are bargains in Hershey. This is a great spot!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#17 of 25 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Property: White Rose Motel
Address: 1060 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#3 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated small motel. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing