We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Family Owned Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rose Motel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, Family Owned Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family spent 3 nights at the White Rose. It cost us less to stay at the White Rose for the 3 nights than what we would have spent for 1 night at one of the Hershey properties. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and it was very quiet. All rooms have a coffee maker (plus there's coffee made downstairs each morning), microwave, refrigerator, tv, vcr and dvd player. The dvd was a nice addition since it rained one night and my boys had some movies in the car, so we had family movie night when we got back after dinner. The motel is located very close to Hershey Park and the other area attractions. The kids used the pool and although it's outdoors in the middle of the parking lot it has nice landscaping and tall flowers to provide a visual barrier between the cars and the pool goers. The staff are super nice and will make recommendations for restaurants and give you maps and directions if you ask. They also sent a great list of local restaurants and attractions including addresses and a list of places to buy discount Hershey tickets as an attachment with our confirmation email. Great idea and very helpful! Based on the list they sent we also visited the nearby cavern as well as the National Civil War museum. We will definitely be back to the White Rose!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drdtaranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    159
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
309
103
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We highly recommend this roadside motel. It is right on the main road and easily found. Very friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room and bathroom was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting outside the room and eating take-out pizza from a restaurant in Hershey. Pool is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I just had a great two night stay at the White Rose Motel. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They told us where to get the cheapest admission tickets to Hershey Park, where to park for free when we went to chocolate world and directed us to a great local breakfast spot "The Filling Station"! Most importantly, our room was spotless. Two queen size beds with fresh clean bedding. The bathroom was clean and shower tile grout was pure white! The water pressure was also great! As a Health Commissioner and a Public Health Expert frequently called upon to be on National TV, I was very impressed with this facility. I have stayed in much higher priced hotels that do not compare to how clean and customer friendly the White Rose is!

Room Tip: The filling Station makes homemade donuts, just get there early because they sell out quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MontaukFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The White Rose proved to be a great motel choice. It is a nostalgic 1960’s like down and out motel but extremely clean! Often when staying at these types of motels although nostalgic they can smell musty and old – not the White Rose it was probably one of the cleanest places we’ve stayed in the world. The beds were comfy and the sheets soft which is rare for most places in its price range.

The motel attendant was helpful in recommending the What If restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed. Teenage kids also enjoyed the pool and the location was convenient to Hershey attractions.

We love taking road trips across the U.S. and mixing up our sleeping choices to include B&Bs, motels, modern hotels, and resorts. The White Rose is a great motel choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLT-BasedTravaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed there for the 4th of July. It is one of the cleanest places i have ever stayed. You are close to everything and the staff was super friendly. Great fridge in the room and the a/c unit kept the room very cool. The pool was a nice treat and was so well maintained that you couldn't even smell chlorine when you got out. Got great recommendations to eat. Dukes and Hershey Pantry. Both of them are locally owned places and the food and service were great. It was great too see all the local places working together. Extra treat of seeing the fireworks right from the parking lot. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhardywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

this roadside budget motel lives up to all of the great reviews. clean and friendly, great experience. the owner called me back when i called to inquire about a reservation. much better then the scary scary experience i had a the grantville holiday inn. the white rose makes you yearn for more little, cute independently owned motels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComicBookReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved everything about this place except one thing...the beds. They are so firm, that even my husband who loves firm beds couldn't get a good night sleep. The AC unit is also very close to one of the beds. I was constatntly worried that a person who sleeps on that bed is going to get sick. We had to turn it off at night. This place is very clean! I always bring my own sheets with me, but I didn't even put them on the beds this time. You can get a fresh coffee in the morning, there is a laundry room and a nice size outdoor pool. People at the front desk are very accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Hershey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Property: White Rose Motel
Address: 1060 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#3 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated small motel. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing