We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of White Rose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Rose Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here with my son after a WWE event at the Giant Center. The decision to stay here was based solely on Tripadvisor reviews. Boy am I glad we did. $55.00 a night - are you kidding me? Where do you find deals like this anymore. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was super clean, comfortable, and quiet. I'm sure this is an older property, but the daily TLC given to this facility makes it outshine any newer hotel you can find. Oh sure, they don't have a "free" breakfast, but like the lady at checkout said, for $20.00 you can go down the street to the Hershey Pantry and get a nice breakfast and your stay still only equals $75.00, not $120+ like the chain hotels in the area. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 595 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We made a last minute change to a weeklong trip and went to Hershey. A quick call to the White Rose (we found on-line}. We prefer the family owned old style motels and the White Rose turned out to be a gem. Great family running it and it is clear they want people to have a good experience. It's older, but extremely well maintained. Nicer than most of the Econo-lodge or Choice hotels we have stayed in. We will keep this one in our back pocket for any future trips to central PA.

Room Tip: We stayed in 18 right above the office. There is no elevator, so you have to be able to climb the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We read several reviews on Tripadvisor before booking two nights at the White Rose Motel. It was everything previous people reported. This is a clean, old-fashioned motel. The staff was very helpful and knew the area well. It's close to Hershey Park and downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tlpeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Owner wonderful and so was rest of staff. Friendly, family feel. Absolutely immaculate. Bed comfortable, very convenient. Not fancy, but has everything needed and then some. Chose because of reviews on Tripadvisor and so glad we did. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on bottom floor if problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have to admit I was a little hesitant about staying here, as I have had bad experiences with motels in the recent past. But this place is the exception. If you are looking for the classic American motel experience, as it is meant to be, this is the place. The room was clean and up to date, with a cutesy country feel to it. The pool was unbelievably clean. The lady at the front desk was incredibily helpful when our four year old broke a toy, and she helped fix it and save us from an hours-long meltdown on our journey. Very friendly and warm all around.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timmyontheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Found it on trip advisor stayed 2 nights the room was so nice & clean. We loved the fall decorations & the lady was very helpful telling us where the sites were. If we go back to Hershey we will stay here again. Close to every thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ford351m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My daughter was getting married in the Hershey area. Instead of descending on my mom who lives in the town next door, we asked her to recommend a place for us and all the family to stay. She recommended the White Rose Motel. We checked it out and spoke with the “woman who knows what’s going on” She showed us a room and we told her we would probably need about 15 rooms. The wedding was on Labor Day and we arrived from NY on the Thursday before. The local kids are already in school for two weeks so it is considered off season but for NY and NJ kids it is the last weekend of freedom. We were given room 8 which is in the wing that runs perpendicular to the road. My wife was on crutches from an accident and room 8 was on the ground floor. By the time we got unpacked and came back out to the car there was a reserved parking sign for room 8 in front of our parking space!! The room was spacious and had a refrigerator, microwave and hair dryer. The “woman who knows what is going on” suggested to my wife since it was tough for her to stand that we take one of the outdoor chairs and place it in the shower. By the weekend of the wedding at least 15 rooms were taken up by people going to the wedding. I did not hear anyone have complaint with their rooms or service. The beds were comfortable and it seems that they are slowly changing the rooms over to flat screen tv’s. I know the maid of honor’s room had one. There is a laundry on premise and a nice little area with tables and chairs between the two wings where you can hang out. Yes it is not a chain, so you are not going to get a “cookie cutter” breakfast like at HI express. But you can go down the road to the Hershey Pantry to eat with the other “touristas” or better, head east down 422 to The Filling Station which is where the locals go. The pool, which unfortunately I did not get to use, I was told was great. I would highly recommend this hotel. As for the “woman who knows what’s going on” comment, in the office behind the counter is a sign “Do you want to talk to the man in charge or the woman who knows what’s going on”, at this hotel I would definitely talk to the woman who knows what’s going on. As for cost this hotel was a lot cheaper than any of the chains in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the perpendicular wing are probably quieter but I didn't hear anyone complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
632 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
527 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Hershey
Econo Lodge Hershey
#12 of 25 in Hershey
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Address: 1060 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1293
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#3 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $55 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#2 Traveler rated property in Hershey. Known for our VERY CLEAN ROOMS. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing