We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place to rest your head!”
Review of White Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rose Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Smithtown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice clean place to rest your head!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We selected this motel after reading the other traveler reviews, and we were very happy with our stay. We visited Hersheypark, and were just looking for a nice clean place to rest our heads after a long day at the park. Even from the outside, you can tell it is very well kept. The rooms are very clean, and that is all we were looking for. We are easy going travelers, and didn't need any "bells and whistles". This was a perfect play for us to stay - only minutes from Hersheypark, and down the road from the Hershey Pantry, which has the BEST breakfast in Hershey!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    169
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
328
107
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Very solid stay. Overall clean rooms, air conditioner worked very well and good pressure in the shower. Beds were not the most comfortable, but pretty much expected that. We also liked the chairs outside of our rooms which allowed us to sit with friends of ours outside while our kids were in bed. Also very close to the park and just about everything was just a few minutes ride. The pool was great, kids loved it and it was open nit. 10pm. Overall I would recommend this for a short stay.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have a difficult time climbing stairs ask for a ground flor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the White Rose Motel for two night when we stopped to go to Hershey Park on our way to New York state. We had never been to Hershey, so I picked where to stay based on the reviews. I was a little worried with it being a motel and all (not had the greatest experiences at some) but it turned out great. It was definitely much more reasonably priced than the other hotels in the area. The motel was older but it was extremely clean and well maintained. We swam in the pool one evening and it was very clean as well. It has a laundry room which I was very greatful for. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and helpful, giving us maps of the area and even telling us where to go to get discounted tickets to Hershey Park. I even recieved a call a couple of hours after leaving notifying me that my daughter left a pair of shoes. They were nice enough to pay to have them shipped to me and let me reimburse them once they arrived. Something I really appreciated. Great value, very clean, good location...would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My daughter and I needed a nice place to stay for a one day visit to Hersheypark. After looking at the reviews, we chose this motel and was not disappointed. It is conveniently located to the park and we could not beat the price for the Summer. We took advantage of the pool when we arrived and it was clean and lots of fun (even with a 6-foot "deep end"). Staff was very friendly and the entire atmosphere had a "home" feel to it. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Loved the landscaping and you can tell they maintained the property as if it was their home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBuffaloGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The White Rose Motel is a very well maintained property. The rooms were spotless and the staff is very helpful. I stayed here this past week with my family as well as two years ago. The pool is really great and the beds were also very comfortable. This past stay they also provide free Wifi. I would recommend this place for anyone visiting Hershey, PA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I spent the night at the White Rose on August 19. We were greeted warmly by a very nice woman at the reception desk. She kindly recommended a delicious restaurant (Funke's) and provided us with maps.

We had a second floor room that was very clean. If found the bed to be very comfortable, and the bathroom was nicely appointed. While it was small, a high window let in so much light that it made it very cheery. I kept thinking that we left the bathroom light on, but it was just the sunshine! The shower was energetic, and the towels were plentiful.

The room was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and a 4 cup coffee maker. I don't usually like to use the coffee makers in hotels, but this one seemed very clean. Regardless, the staff put out coffee and tea in the morning so there was no need to brew my own.

The heated pool was a sparkling blue and well-maintained. There were towels at poolside so there was no need to bring them from the room. This motel is located on Chocolate Avenue, so it is a busy street. However, that makes it close to everything. I really did not notice the street noise as my room was at the far end from the street.

This motel is a pleasant, updated tribute to the road trips of my childhood. I very much enjoyed the clean, quiet accommodations and the tiny touches that were homey (stenciled roses in the interior hallway, rose railings, wooden benches outside of the rooms). It seemed very much a family place. I felt very safe there and would definitely stay there on my next trip to Hershey.

Thank you to the Grimms for providing an affordable, lovely gem...ahem...rose in the garden of our travels. Kudos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliann65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed with my 9 & 14 yr old for last minute Hershey park trip and was nervous about staying in a MOTEL but this place was cleaner and more organized than most resort and hotels which cost twice as much. Check in was effortless and pleasant and the woman gave us great info about visiting the park. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained ( trust me I'm a germaphobe). The bathroom, although small, was clean without a speck of mildew or mold. The pool was soo clean and secluded despite being on a main road it was surrounded by manicured gardens and the grounds are neat and well maintained. This motel went above and beyond any other motel and should definitely hold its spot as no.2 on the best place to stay. The price is great and the location is perfect. Will stay again next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Property: White Rose Motel
Address: 1060 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#3 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated small motel. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing