We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Better Best”

The Chocolate Avenue Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chocolate Avenue Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lindon Rd
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Better Best”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were there on a busy Saturday afternoon. They seemed to be a little challenged with their reservation service where they give you the little light up vibrating thing for when your table was ready. We probably waited about 20 minutes when my wife saw a group that she knew came in after us go to a table. She talked with the manager. He was quick to acknowledge their mistake as they were using a new reservation system. He was very apologetic and took us right to a table. I told him no problem, as long as the food was good. We'd read some really good reviews on this place and were not disappointed by the food. I had a chicken wrap which was great. The side pasta salad was even better. Around the table we had a cheese steak sandwich, cheeseburger and some sort of sandwich. Thumbs up from everyone plus the vidallia flavored potato chips were fantastic. The waitress was just OK. Very pleasant, but she poured water from a well frosted pitcher that dripped on my sons plate. No big deal, but not what you want your waitress to do. Then, it was time for dessert. We were happily full and declined, BUT, the manager asked the waitress to bring us whatever dessert we wanted because of his mistake with us getting a table. We politely declined because we were full, but we remembered the potato chips. They gave us a bag to take home. That's the way to make and keep happy customers. We'll go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BestBuddyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    401
    111
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Spot with Kids”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great restaurant very close to the Hershey attractions. We went for lunch on a Tuesday and were surprised with how hopping the place was. We were even more happy when they seated us right away--no wait despite how busy they were. We were there with our two young children and noticed right away how extensive the selection on the kids menu was, much more than most restaurants we've been to. We opted to have our kids share the fish and chips adult menu item, though, and they really enjoyed it. The fish was done well---not fishy, the prefect crispness and good flavor. My husband had the blue cheese burger and loved it. It was simple, not a lot of other things on it, but super tasty. Only downside to our visit was I ordered some soup that was never brought out to us. When I asked them to just take it off our bill, they apologized profusely. Overall, the food was tasty and we were happy with the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amalcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Last May, I lead a trip for a class of 37 8th graders to Hershey Park. Prior to the trip, I booked a reservation with the Chocolate Grill. From start to finish, they were most helpful with every aspect. We designed a menu so that the kids could pick before going on the trip and they started cooking right away. This helped us greatly as we were on a time budget. The managers, servers and extended staff were all awesome with our students. They treated them with respect and we had a great time. Additionally, all the food was awesome! Waiting on such a large party (43 all total) is not easy, but they did a great job. We are hoping to go back for this year on our trip as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Lunch (or Dinner) After Visiting Hershey Park”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped here after touring Hershey's Chocolate World. We happened upon it as we were looking to get back on the highway but we were both really glad we found it!

Chocolate Avenue Grill is your typical gourmet grill that serves burgers, sandwiches, wraps and grilled entrees. They also have a pretty good beer menu and a yummy-looking cocktail menu...we stuck with beer since we had to drive though!

We split the fried Mozzarella and then I ordered the Smokehouse Chicken sandwhich which was very tasty. For the burger portion of the menu, they give you the option of either a burger, chicken or portobello mushroom patti...I really like that option when places do that!
My fiance had the crabcake sandwich and she loved it.

The service was great and the restaurant had a nice looking patio out front that had some heaters on it; looked like a good place to sit for dinner or something.

Anyway, this is a great place to eat in Hershey!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The buffalo chicken sandwich special was great! The mango ginger Rita was fantastic!! Highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing