We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay!”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This was our first time visit to Hershey, PA. and I wanted to stay on site. What a beautiful hotel. I have nothing negative to say. The rooms with comfy queen beds had everything you needed. There were touches of Hershey everywhere, from the wallpaper in the bath to the kisses on the pillowcases and don't forget the chocolate soap. After a delicious dinner at The Bears Den, the bus to the park was perfect. We opted to try the preview evening at the park, visit for the last 2 1/2 hrs free when you purchase your tickets for the remainder of your stay. This worked out perfectly and we got a treat of a great fireworks display after the park closed. You also have the option of watching from the pond in front of the hotel. Don't forget to visit The World of Chocolate, it's fun for all ages and the gift shop has more chocolate then I've ever seen in one place. The park is clean, the rides fun and our stay was great. We had our teenage coaster enthusiast with us and she wasn't disappointed. You won't be either.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank shadowryter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,686 - 2,692 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

Second year in a row we stayed in the Hershey Lodge during the 4th. All was great. We arrived at 10:30 am and we were able to check in! Nice clean rooms, excellent staff, many eating choices on site. Once again we ate at all of them. None take reservations which would be nice on rainy days when everyone moves to eating as an activity. One suggestion on breakfast. The Libbys buffet is excellent but expensive. I ate my share of raspberries to cover my cost, but my 2 boys 11 & 5 couldn't do more than their normal ... couple waffles and a doughnut. Same with my husband. Another tip, we tried to get into Bob Evans (5 minuetes away) the next morning for breakfast...1:30 wait. We passed.

For the fireworks - pass on watching them at the lodge - they make an excellent attempt to create a great event - it is just too far from the action to make an impact.

Request the tower? The lodge is large and you may have to walk a bit depending on your room location. One recent reviewer recommended you call early and request a tower room to stay close to the action. Perhaps you may want to consider the quiet room an outer room offers. Our room was silent, but we did pass through many halls where we noted we were glad not to have gotten a room near - the traffic can be crazy.

Last - visit the Hershey Gardens. We didn't expect much, and were truly wowed by the beauty. Even 2 little boys loved it. Only sour was a thunderstorm that blew in an shortened our visit - we didn't get into the butterfly house, but I think I could imagine the beauty there too.

5  Thank familyof4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed there for July 4 which I would have thought would be over crowded. It wasnt. The room was great for us two adults and two children ages 4 and 6. It definatley was an old fashioned feel there. Nothing overly fancy but really nice. Extrememely comfortable bed, really nice shower. The staff was very accomodating as was the front desk. We asked for more towels and in five minutes they were there. They than asked if we needed more it was no problem. What ever we needed. The coffee shop was great. We loved it. The refridgerator was in the bathroom which was questionable, but all in all we really enjoyed it! Very close to the park. Seemed to be the nicest in the area except for the Hershey hotel. We also liked the pool. The restaurants there were very good as well. We ate at the buffet. The kids loved it and we also enjoyed it. They also have Chocolate Soap in the rooms. And make your own Smores Kits at the coffee shop. Breakfast there was surprisingly nice. We stayed in the Reeses section which was right by the pool. Very Clean Nice View. Wonderful towels. I think this is the way to go for Hershey!! Also discount tickets.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JillianL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hershey Lodge the weekend of my birthday (June 16), and I must say it was better than I expected! The room was small, but it was clean and was nice and cool when we arrived. The front desk staff was great (loved the chocolate bars given at check-in!) The directions that we were given to get to our room were vague, but we found it just fine. The grounds and the lobby area were beautiful. My only complaints: kids running up and down the hallways at all hours (but I think we did come when there was some sort of sports tournament), the outdoor pool was crowded and we never did find the indoor pool, and the rooms should be a little more soundproof (we could hear the couple in the next room being intimate!) But overall, I loved the Hershey Lodge and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hersheyspalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Our experiaence at the hershey lodge was perfect.
Our stay was from June 25-27

Check in:
We got stuck in traffic so we arrived around 3:45-4:00 Pm, anyway a staff member named Meredith checked us in and was courteous and kind and new what she was dueing. We did not at first know at which end of the hotel we were staying at so we requested a tower room. We were put on the 5th floor of the hotel and it took maybe 25-30 minutes to get a room and have it ready if you have time you can walk the hotel grounds to get a feeling of the place, there is also a bar near the lobby at the north end of the lodge were yo can relax. It is going to be noisy and busy during the 4:00-5:30 time frame so dont expect the lobby to always be quiet it is also busy during check-out times. We recieved Free Hershey Bars at check-in we also recieved complimentery tickets to the Hershey gardens and museum. The concierge was very knowledgable and you can purchase discount tickets for hershey park.

Rooms: We stayed in a standard Guest room on the 5th floor in a tower our room number was 5838 on every floor there is a vending machine and a soda and ice machine on every floor of the tower. We arrived to find our Guest room clean and prepared. The shower was relaxing and had plenty of warm water and pressure. The toilet has what i refer to as super flush! it is very loud and may frighten smaller children who do not like noises. the counters were made of granite and hade 1 sink and 2 bars of soap a coffee pot with coffee and a mini fridge below the counter and came with shampoo and soap there was an almost silent exhaust fan located in the shower to draw steam from the shower. Our room had probably been newly renovated it seems all of the main tower rooms have. The tower was not far from the lobby or attractions. The elevators were quick but sometimes delayed.

Amenities: Although we did not use the pools but they were located convieniently from our room there was also a playground the pools wern't exactly crysta clear and were a little crowded. The shuttle service was the best it was air conditioned and did not take long to get to the park maybe 5 minuites and was parked in the center of everything, if you plan on taking the bus you might want to leave the park at 9:30 the latest to avoid crowding. Room service was quick and you got a chocolate bar on the tray and flowers you get on demand movies and internet there is also an Ethernet port on the dresser and wireless you can also checkout from the television.

Park: The park was clean when we went and we went on the rollersoaker which was fun! The boardwalk was packed because it was hot and east coast waterworks and Coastline plunge was a little disorganized plus you had to wait on a huge line to get into the play structure. At night it was still hot out but just as enjoyable. One favored ride was the Hershey Kissing Tower it is very large but not fast and i went on nand are extremely afraid of heights but i found it enjoyable plus the car was air conditioned.

Tips:
- Stay at the lodge ! and book a tower room!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VacationKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

This was my second stay at the Lodge and it will be my last. It wasn't terrible but it was very noisy. People were coming and going through the wee hours and it was impossible to sleep through the night.
Also, depending on what room you get, you could be miles from the main lobby and the feeling is that you are at an ordinary motel.
Room was okay, not so clean and the beds were complete mush. The a/c was also very loud but necessary to drown out the constant noise.
Next year I'll give the Hershey Hotel a try. The lodge is just too overwrought with people for the money.
**On a good note, they did renovate the Hershey Grill and it is a huge improvement over the previous restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Grounds were beautiful, employees were friendly. We went for a special family getaway with 2 teenagers, 15 & 13.
Resort was much bigger than it appeared on their website, pools were way too crowded for our liking. Room was not as large as a standard double queen. Had to squeeze around everybody. Would have been better off at a Day's Inn or comparable. One of the main reasons we booked with them was to get "early access" to Hersheypark as a guest of the resort.
Well, don't waste your money. They let you into the park early, but , not even 1/4 of the rides/shops were open then. So, we felt like we had been mislead.
The main reason we went was for the new waterpark "The Boardwalk". We had previously been to Disney's Typhoon Lagoon, and this Boardwalk was like a kiddie pool in comparison. Granted, it was very hot when we were there, so it's
understandable that it was very crowded. Just to take one of the waterslides was a 1/2 hour minium wait. We did go on weekdays, thinking we would be avoiding crowds, but it really didn't matter. The best time to ride actual rides was after 8 pm.
They're only open to 10, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catlover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $50 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing