We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - for $100 less per night”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Rooms are nice, but not luxurious. Free high speed internet, and queen sized beds are great. Surprisingly, Hershey obviously has not gotten any cell carriers to put in a cell site nearby. Reception is atrocious at the lodge. Two sinks in bathroom two are an extra. This is a 4-star hotel, with a 5-star price, yielding a 3-star review. The help is excellent, but the hotel is full in the summer and the lobby feels like Grand Central Station.

The main attraction to the hotel is you get free tickets to the Hershey Museum and the Gardens and you get to go into the park an hour early. Also, the shuttle bus runs often, so the walk to get out of the park is a whole lot shorter than driving (and no real traffic either).

That said, it is a huge premium to other hotels. The first time you go here, it might be worth it since you can do lots of rides in that first hour in the 1/4 or so of the park that is open, but if you come again, there are other less expensive alternatives!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swpswp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,797)
There are newer reviews for Hershey Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,740 - 2,746 of 2,798 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island, NY
312
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The hotel is really nice, but the major drawback is the price. Despite what other reviewers have stated, the hotels in this area are all not this expensive. For about half the price you could find something really nice in the area. Having 3 different pools to choose from was a nice feature, especially with the hot weather the week we were there. Also, free mini golf for guests is a nice touch, but this still doesn't justify the price. Another benefit offered to guests is being able to enter Hershey Park an hour earlier (tickets are not included, but discounted tickets available through the lodge). The only problem I had with this is that only about 25% of the park is operating that first hour, so we weren't able to get a few runs in on the rides we wanted to go on the most. We ate at the Bear's Den inside the hotel which offered a great setting to bring the kids with good food at a decent price. Also, the front desk is in need of some more staffing. We arrived just before the stated 4 PM check in time and had to wait 10 minutes in line only to find out they didn't have a room available. It wasn't until about 4:15 until a room was available. With a 11 AM check out time, it seems the cleaning crew is understaffed as well in not being able to get all the rooms ready in 5 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

I agree with the recent poster that the Hershey Lodge does not deserve some of the bad reviews of late. My family of 4 found it to be wonderful. The kids didn't want to leave. I agree it is expensive, but so was every other hotel in Hershey. I priced all the area hotels on the usual internet suspects, and all were within a few dollars of each other, and all were close to $279 per night. I do not regret my decision to spend two nights at the Hershey Lodge. The kids loved the miniature golf, there were three pools to choose from, and one even had an 8ft deep section. Food was abundant, the self serve Cocoa Beanery a bit crowded for my taste though. The breakfast buffet and made to order omelettes were very good. We passed on the dinner buffet and ate at the Sports Bar, and enjoyed delicious bugers, salads, and deserts.

We really liked the Sweet Start program where Hershey Lodge guests are allowed into the park an hour before opening. That gave us a good two hours before the crowds caught up to us. We walked right on to the most popular rides, and rode them over and over for two hours! See if the Comfort Inn lets you do that.

We also got free tickets to the Hershey Gardens, which were beautiful, especially the Butterfly House and Childrens Garden.

Housekeeping was great, and responded to our request for additional pillows within 2 minutes. Housekeeping even playfully displayed my daughters teddy bear on the bed, reading a book and eating chocolates!

And as for the beds, they are truly the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Combined with real down pillows, we slept soundly. We were in the tower, and experienced NO problem with noise. With the AC on, you really don't hear much of anything from folks walking down the hallway. Remember, it is a hotel, and there are other people staying there too. The hotel was at capacity during our stay, but the pools and restaurants easily handled the capacity. The staff was EXCEEDINGLY FRIENDLY and ACCOMODATING! Every last one of them. They definitely put the H in Hospitality.

I especially liked the Aveeda products in the bathroom. Different indeed, in a good way.

We received a chocolate bar upon check-in, and mini's with our check at the restaurant, and mini's on our beds from housekeeping each day. If you wanted more, all you had to do was ask.

And the dorm refrigerator is perfect for keeping a cold drink or two, and any medications you might have that need to be refrigerated.

The shuttle runs every few minutes, so you don't need your car once you arrive, and you save on parking fares. When you check-in, they tell you the shuttle runs every 40 minutes, but in reallity, there are 3 buses running constantly, so you never wait more than 5 minutes or so for a nice airconditioned shuttle to take you right to the front gate.

I would definitely stay there again, and I will be calling to see what mattresses they have and getting one for home!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

Other reviews did not give the hotel a fair review. Yes it was expensive but all hotels in Hershey are expensive this time of year. People were nice, the place was clean and beautiful. They give a AAA discount. We stayed our first night at another area hotel that got a great rating, because the lodge was not available. The difference in the rate was $60 . We were very unhappy until we got to the hershey lodge. The Hotel is beautiful. Kids played minature golf and we took a shuttle to the park. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were extremely comfortable. It felt more like a vacation. Extremely happy and would go back in the future.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank jlronkonkoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

The resort is just nothing special! There isn't chocolate everywhere. They give each person in your party a hershey bar when you check-in. The rooms are standard and quite small for a family. There is a small dorm sized refrigerator. The maid service is lacking, I had to ask to have the sheets changed. The hallways are VERRRRRY long and dark. Prepare for lots of walking to get one from area to another.

The things I enjoyed most was the shuttle service to the amusement part, excellent. The breakfast buffet was adequate. On the fourth of July they hand out blankets so that quests could sit on the lawn and watch fire works.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dhariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

We were there July 10/12, 05. I was a little leary before i arrived for some bad reviews, but I found this lodge to be a 4 star hotel (Im very particular to where i stay) we checked in around 12PM - they gave us all our room info and did have to come back for room wasnt ready but expected that - (room was ready by 4Pm) This is the most convenient hotel around the park to stay from what i saw. There were many free features included: free mini golf, free shuttle svc, free entry to hershey world, free entry to the gardens, free chocolate everywhere you go practically, free activities for the kids/families at night time, also buy your tickets to the park in the lobby and get a discount as well as to wonderland in lancaster. Our room was amazing - queen size beds, everything spotless and top notched - aveda bath products - I did specified to stay in the main lodge (The towers) when i booked the room and we did get a room in that section, otherwise the other rooms are located in a motel like setting. The food was awful (got served molded fruit) and overrpriced but is expected at most hotels and when your tired you pay for convenience. There were other restaurants if you wanted to drive. One more tip - check out the hershey hotel even if your not staying there - drive around to the back and park - go up the stairs - it is so amazing - we called it the princesses' palace. If your staying for 1/2 nights this is the place to stay (the lodge) it is highly worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Stayed in lodge on July 24 for one night, we are very disppointed! The food is bad but expensive (we have buffet dinner after we checked in), it looks like left overs from last night. The breakfast is little bit better, but the coffee is terriable, it's not hot (it's not even warm). The lobby is nice but the room is very small and noisy, we clearly heard the people walking down the aisle and the talking, flashing toilet sound, TV sound etc from next door. We paid $294 for one night, but it worth $100...won't stay in this hotel again!

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank yantaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $50 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing