We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overcrowded”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overcrowded”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and I stayed one night in the Hershey Lodge in late November, as we were traveling to Hershey for their annual holiday celebration. My feelings about the Lodge are mixed. First, the positives: 1. The Lodge is simply beautiful, especially around Christmas. 2. The Bear's Den lounge/restaurant is good for families 3. The rooms are immaculately clean. And the beds have the special covers on them to prevent the creepy-crawlies 4. It's really convenient to the parks and the shuttle is a nice feature. 5. The park itself is wonderful. And the negatives: 1. Hershey Lodge is far more expensive than other area hotels. Though the rooms are clean and have been recently refreshed, they are very small and there isn't much soundproofing. Not sure it's worth it for the extra price 2. The Lodge was packed the weekend we were there - not a place to sit in the lobby. And despite the price, some of the guests were... kind of questionable and not what you would expect in a "family" establishment. For instance, we were a little scared walking down the hall to our room (and picked up the pace significantly) when we heard screaming and yelling coming from another room. And let's just say that, on another long walk from my room to the lobby, a questionable odor was emanating from another guest room... taking "no smoking" to a totally different level. (Now I realize these things can happen anywhere and I can't fault the Lodge for its guests. But perhaps having security walk the halls - especially with the hotel so crowded - might not be such a bad idea). We will definitely be back to Hershey - but quite possibly staying elsewhere, especially if it's just for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    819
    467
    177
    129
See reviews for
1,587
233
25
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My kids and I stayed here for the night for a winter break during school winter break. We had a room with 2 queen beds which was a little small but very clean and the kids loved the decorations. The WiFi was spotty which wasn't very convenient as we all had our devices and had a hard time using them - not really sure what the problem was - perhaps our room location. We used the pool which was a lot of fun - it was clean, large, great lounge chairs and towels and included a very nice changing room. We ate at the Hershey Grille which was a little disappointing but convenient. We ate breakfast at Lebbie Lebkichers, also located on-site and it was very nice. Overall staff was friendly and professional and the grounds and hotel were really nice. I would love to see it in full bloom!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We simply loved it. My wife and I and our 2.5 year-old spent 24 hours here last weekend and really wish it could have been longer.

First off: they set us up with a "suite" since we wanted our son to have his own room so everyone could sleep in peace. Now, it was more of two adjoining rooms connected by a door, but it completely worked out. The rooms themselves were big, clean and very nice. Other real strengths:

1) A few days before we checked in, the staff helped me book a spa appointment for my wife at the nearby Hotel Hershey. She loved it.

2) There is available babysitting. This, of course, is great news for parents of young kids. The staff arranged a sitter with 20 years of experience (who had been thoroughly background-checked). She came up to our room after our kid went to bed and stayed there for three hours while my wife and I had dinner and drinks. $15 an hour. She was very sweet.

3) There are scores of activities. We made two trips to the big, heated indoor pool and the arcades (which included not just video games but air hockey and ping pong). In warmer months, there would also be fun to be had at the basketball courts and mini-golf course.

4) The rustic lobby, complete with a huge fireplace, is cozy and beautiful. The whole lodge (which really is gigantic) is really well-maintained.

5) I think we sampled four of the lodge's restaurants. The coffee shop was only ok and somewhat pricey, but we liked the breakfast spot. The other two were great: the Bear's Den is a legit, fun sports bar while The Forebay was perfect for our dinner for two. Delicious with a very attentive staff.

6) You get free tickets to the Hershey museum as part of your stay and it was a fine place to spend an hour. The town itself is nice too and we spent some time at the nearby outlet malls.

The only two negatives:

1) As others have mentioned, their online reservation system is very slow/clunky.

2) I had requested an early check-in, ideally around 1pm, instead of their normal 4pm time. I was told they couldn't guarantee it, of course, but they were hopeful it could happen. Alas, it did not and we couldn't get into our room until 3pm. My toddler son at that point was two hours late for his nap and VERY tired but thankfully the lodge is so big that we were able to kill most of that time just exploring. And while I felt that the front desk staff could have been a little more aggressive early to see if our room had freed up, they eventually did call housekeeping on my behalf and got us in.

But that is a relatively minor thing and otherwise the service throughout our stay was REALLY good (and they allowed us a late check-out of noon, rather than 11:00 am). It's not cheap, but we had a fantastic time and are certain we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemiracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland and PA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Luxury lodge with great accommodations. Staff was friendly. A huge building with lots to do. Still very quiet and at times felt like we were the only ones there. Lobby was romantic with large fireplace. Lots of dining choices within lodge itself which was very convenient. Had a very affordable latte at their cafe. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachblondie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved the friendly service and extremely clean accommodations! Everyone was willing to help and no detail was left unnoticed. The atmosphere is so inviting and comfortable. There are so many options of places to eat inside the hotel that you don't even have to leave during your stay. Well worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We ended up staying at the Hershey Lodge on Saturday February 8th, after a horrible experience at a local property left us without a place for the night! We were in town for a wedding being held at the Hershey Lodge, and not only did they welcome us and apologize for our experience at the other surrounding property, but they even honored the wedding block rate.

The room was gorgeous as usual, and the bed was so comfy! I would recommend any of the Hershey Resorts property to anyone looking for a place to stay in Hershey!

Room Tip: Ask for the Tower! They're the most centrally located rooms- since it is a 600 room property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went here for a weekend getaway in the winter. Always wanted to stay here and IT WAS WORTH IT! SUPERB service all around and the restaurants offer delectable dishes! Lunch in the Bears Den which was a dream for an avid hockey player and coach. Then chocolate martinis at night with a glass you get to keep. You know you are in a good place when they give you a Hershey bar when you check in!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Property: Hershey Lodge
Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing