We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet stay”
Review of Hershey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sweet stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hershey Lodge has upped their game over the last few years. Room have been overhauled, lobby areas are inviting, staff is welcoming. Everything was clean and up to date. Some of the restaurants could use menu additions but there are lots of local places that are a nice treat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    801
    460
    172
    126
See reviews for
1,547
231
25
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very disappointed that the Lodge no longer has a compassionate rate for patients or family members of patients at Hershey Med Center. They used to do this. Room was very expensive for an off-season Friday ($198) but it was very, very comfortable. Loved the soft sheets. Walking distances are huge, so if you have a mobility issue state it up front. I ate lunch and dinner outside the hotel, and then picked up a couple items in the coffee shop for breakfast. White Rose gives a lot more bang for the buck, but amenities are much better at the Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our stay at this lodge was nearly perfect!
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The bed were great and so were the pillows.
The staff was always friendly.
The restaurants were mostly good, but they were also the only low-point of our stay.
The smell of chololate filled the air.
The fireplace in the lounge was a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrI-tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I cannot say anough about the Hershey Lodge as it was a wonderful place to stay. From the moment I had called for a quick reservation to the time we hit route 81 heading home this was the best experience we have had at a hotel. I took my wife on an early Valentines day weekend who was pregnant and not due for 3 more weeks and lets just say our baby boy was determined to join us and we had our baby boy that Monday before Valentines at Penn State Hershey (Keep in mind we are from Scranton). The staff at this hotel treated us like family knowing our baby had to stay at Penn State Hershey (Which was a WONDERFUL facility) for a little longer then expected. The staff sent up a card to our room signed by all the staff on duty at the time congratulating us on the birth of our child along with a gift basket and chocolate covered strawberries. This felt so wonderful after a very stressful week spent at Penn State Hershey with all going on with our newborn son. The place was spotless from the parking lot to the rooms and really a great atmosphere in the lobby with huge fireplace. We had a nice quiet stay with no issues whatsoever. Room service food was very good and fresh as well as the breakfast. I know this is a long review but we just cant say enough as the staff did not have to go out of their way to make us feel so welcome but they did and you just don't see that alot anymore. Even with a big convention going on the staff made sure we got to spend the extra time at the lodge without prior reservations. Once again thank you to all the staff at the Hershey Lodge for making our trip to Hershey an unforgetable one to say the least. We will be visiting Hershey again soon and the Lodge will be the place we stay for sure. Once again thank you to all the staff at the Hershey Lodge for making our trip to Hershey an unforgetable one to say the least.

Room Tip: Everyones situation is different so speak to one of the staff to find the best area of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hershey Lodge is very difficult to find if you've never been there. There are no signs and it looks like an office park at first. It's also far enough away from the amusement park to require a shuttle. Thankfully, this service is provided free and runs frequently.

The common areas are very nice and they have characters roaming around at times, but the rooms are small and outdated. The layout is very confusing since it's on a hill. Floor 2 is not always floor 2 (no kidding).

They have an outdoor and indoor pool, tennis courts, but we didn't use them. The dining hall is okay and the food good, but the service is s-l-o-w, and we experienced this on 2 separate trips.

The sole reason to stay is if you're visiting the water park and want to guarantee a Cabana. You can only reserve a Cabana if you stay at either the Hershey Lodge or Hotel Hershey, otherwise take your chances.

Small kids will enjoy it, but the price is no bargain.

Room Tip: Some rooms have another door opening to the parking lot. Some people like this for ease of access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We come here at least once a year for a marriage conference. Even though the property is sold out, the staff makes you feel like you are the only one there. The rooms are great, the bed very comfortable and the meeting rooms are well lit and the right temperature. The restaurants get backed up some, but nor badly considering there are 2000+ people just for the conference. The only complaint is that the room numbers and layout can make it difficult as 2000 series rooms are on the same floor as some 1000 series rooms and some 1000 series rooms are in different buildings.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are closer to the lobby but rooms in other units may have parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had a great experience with this hotel no problems very clean wonderful room. I had the opportunity to have a room with a door inside and out it was a nice feature to be able to go straight into the hotel room or out into the parking lot from my room. The room itself was pretty quiet you were able to hear people in the hallway but only if they were walking right up near your door my only complaint would have been the pillows they were too fluffy. That however is just my personal preference. Overall I was very pleased with my stay. The concierge service was outstanding. I ate at the restaurant on site the food was excellent. There was a pool and exercise room on site however I was there for a conference and didn't have time to use it. They give you a Hershey's candy bar at check in which I thought was a nice added touch. Every morning after the maid leaves they also leave Hershey kisses on your nightstand.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#18 of 25 in Hershey
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Property: Hershey Lodge
Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hershey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing