We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets Better Every Year”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gets Better Every Year”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We come here at least once a year for a marriage conference. Even though the property is sold out, the staff makes you feel like you are the only one there. The rooms are great, the bed very comfortable and the meeting rooms are well lit and the right temperature. The restaurants get backed up some, but nor badly considering there are 2000+ people just for the conference. The only complaint is that the room numbers and layout can make it difficult as 2000 series rooms are on the same floor as some 1000 series rooms and some 1000 series rooms are in different buildings.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are closer to the lobby but rooms in other units may have parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    819
    467
    177
    129
See reviews for
1,587
233
25
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had a great experience with this hotel no problems very clean wonderful room. I had the opportunity to have a room with a door inside and out it was a nice feature to be able to go straight into the hotel room or out into the parking lot from my room. The room itself was pretty quiet you were able to hear people in the hallway but only if they were walking right up near your door my only complaint would have been the pillows they were too fluffy. That however is just my personal preference. Overall I was very pleased with my stay. The concierge service was outstanding. I ate at the restaurant on site the food was excellent. There was a pool and exercise room on site however I was there for a conference and didn't have time to use it. They give you a Hershey's candy bar at check in which I thought was a nice added touch. Every morning after the maid leaves they also leave Hershey kisses on your nightstand.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Clean and beautiful rooms friendly staff see to all your needs lots to do even in the winter. Food is great a little pricey but what you would expect for a resort this is a great vacation for any family any ages

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyates13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everyone is professional, warm, courteous, and friendly. I have stayed at the lodge each year for 6 years and have never had a bad experience.Make sure to venture into the neighboring towns as well to discover some of the hidden gems that are nearby. Great shopping and food! Pay a visit to the Hotel as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lodge again. The stay was comfortable and convenient. Everything you need is all located in the lodge. The Bears Den Sports Bar, the Coffee Beanery were all so good. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are more than willing to help you. The only problem is that the places at the Lodge are pricey. Guess you pay for convenience. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were so excited to go stay at the Hershey Lodge when we found out that the trade show we were attending was going to be held there. Wow what an utter disappointment from the time we pulled up had to check in and then get back in our car drive around the entire property to find our room that looked like it was built in the 70s or 80s. The room was old, smelly and rundown. There was mildew all in between the grout lines in the tub and shower. The room did not feel clean at all. I was very surprised to see a property like this owned by Hersheys that had not been Kept up better. They were trying to pump the chocolate smell into the ventilation system to make the place smell better. It did not work very well. I took pictures of the dirt around the tub and the mildew in the tub and presented them to the clerk upon checkout. He said all he could do was offer me a 15% discount on $150 a night room. He did apologize but I feel that I could've stayed at a chain or something else close by and gotten a nicer room and a much better rate. It was also a very loud stay, we were woken up several times in the night hearing people in the hallways. It does not seem like there was much soundproofing of the room. I will never stay there again! I had expected and anticipated so much more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Christopher2998,

Thank you for your comments and concerns for the Hershey Lodge. Please accept my personal apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your visit. We take all comments, positive and constructive, very seriously. It is a disappointing to learn we did not meet your expectations.

We do our best to remedy our guest concerns during their stay. However, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you to follow up and learn more about your experience at the Hershey Lodge. Please feel free to call: 717-533-3311 and ask for to speak with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Hershey Lodge Feb 1-3 for the PIAA Competitive Spirit Cheerleading Competition at the Hershey Arena. The Staff at The Lodge are extremely professional and courteous. Reminded me of Disney-level training. The place was spotless from the lobby to the hallways to the public areas & restrooms and our hotel room. The valet and bell staff were quick to respond and very professional. Check in was easy & we received lots of info from the front desk staff. Concierge could not have been more helpful with local restaurant info, shuttle to the Arena, info about events at the Conference Center. We ate at both restaurants and the coffee shop and enjoyed all three. The Hershey Grill was under renovation, so we were not able to see/use it. Our group rate was $149 per night, which I thought was extremely good for the value of service we received. Beds comfy, rooms were generously sized for two adults and two teens. Bathroom was VERY clean. Location is good and travel to the park is very easy. I would highly recommend the Hershey Lodge and Convention Center, as well as return there in the future.

Room Tip: Reeses Wing is quite a walk, if you have limits try to get a room closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amuenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Property: Hershey Lodge
Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing