We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated and pricey!”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
New England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little dated and pricey!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

But the staff is very helpful. Great vacation. Many attractions. Hershey park is great. Chocolate world was fun. Bus transportation was excellent. Our fridge and coffee pot were dirty when we arrived. Did not want to have to clean when I got there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in A if you want to be near transportation and e,f,g if you like the indoor/outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    825
    474
    182
    131
See reviews for
1,611
235
25
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel was great, staff was great, very clean. Love the smell of chocolate when you walk in.Close to many ammenities. Lots of options for food. Beds very comfortable. Loved the hershey kiss sheets. Would be willing to stay here again. Only disapointment was the Hershey Characters were supposed to come between 10-10:30 am and they did not. Was a huge let down for the kids waiting. Everything was clean which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We attended a conference here so had a reduced room rate. I couldn't believe the extremely high normal rates. I would not pay $400 per night to stay in this hotel.

Conference facilities were good but bedrooms were very small. With 600 delegates we couldn't understand why the hotel didn't open the main bar which meant that the upstairs bar was always crowded.

Food was mediocre even in their supposedly upmarket Hershey Grill. Nice pool area but no drinks service which was a big disappointment since the main bar was so far away. BTW no alcoholic drinks allowed at the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Miles7000,

Thank you for sharing constructive feedback about your experience at the Hershey Lodge. We find great value in both positive comments and constructive comments that we can consider in order to provide excellent service and meet guest expectations.Please allow us to address some of your concerns.

Our room rates on average, do vary in price from $129-$359 based on the day of week and time of year. We're also sorry to hear that you were disappointed in other areas of service. While the bar in our main lobby is closed during certain hours, several of our other eating establishments serve alcoholic beverages. During the summer season, guests can also order food and adult beverages at the outdoor pool concession, Ripples. Our room service menu features similar offerings, pool-side all year. We hope you found this information to be helpful and welcome you to follow-up with us with any additional feedback at: 717-533-3311. Please ask to speak with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Lots to do near by. Plenty to eat on premise. The place is HUGE!
great service! The staff was really helpful and they offer a free shuttle to and from Hershey park.
There is a bar on premise and the rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha3AltoonaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Room was fresh, quiet AC, room service was high quality. Would definitely stay here again.
Carpeting was clean and room had nice towels. Room service was on time and delicious.
What else can I say. Trip Advisor is a pain in my JOHNSON. They require a minimum of 200 characters and don't allow profanity. Hope they get the picture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed here several times on business and LOVE "having" to stay here!! Could never afford to go back on my own coin though. Way too pricey. But something about this place just feels magical. There is always a Hershey bar waiting for you, the rooms are so clean, and the whole place is just awesome. Don't know how else to describe it! Great place for any kind of stay, really, as it's also close to Hershey Park (obviously) so you could make a family thing out of it. Or it would be a romantic place for couples as well. Great gift shop for ALL things chocolate! LOVE it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The room was clean but for the price paid I expected more. One pool; was closed for some reason but nothing was mentioned to indicate that prior to arrival. We took a room close to that pool and was very disappointed. The other outdoor pool was dirty to say the least. Dead bugs in the water and such. Also there were potted plants about and although the were nice they attracted bugs and bees to the area where people were sunning. Very annoying. Finally breakfast was a bad experience if you can get in which we didnt. For the size of the place you would think every resturant would serve breakfast. It did not and that resulted in a 45 min wait each moring. Unaccreptable. We ate at friendlys each morning. Good breakfast cheaper and no wait any of the mornings there. I never mind paying more but I expect to get something for it and this was just average. Will try the Hershey Hotel next time. At least its worth the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhistmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Property: Hershey Lodge
Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing