We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would gladly return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Suites at Hershey
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Dingmans Ferry, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would gladly return”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were looking for lodging in Lancaster, but with a timeshare exchange this is the best one can do. The property is small, but the 3 buildings are nicely laid out. Suites were very nice and roomy. Plenty of parking. Everything here is attractively decorated in 'cocoa colors' and i swear there is a hint of cocoa in the air because it was just yummy every time I stepped off the elevator! Location was perfect - convenient to everything Hershey - and beyond! Room was well equipped, though you do not get the housekeeping services one might find elsewhere. Others complained here about the train whistles, but though I rather enjoyed them, I usually just blocked them out. No problem there. I'd gladly return here. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. There was only one frying pan (could have used a 2nd) and no placemats, but that's no big deal really. Being seniors, we had no interest in the amusement park, but there were plenty of other activities in the area. Don't hesitate exchanging here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bib6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
172
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Hershey with friends who had a time share at the Suites at Hershey. It is very clean and nice with a large kitchen with full size appliances. The rooms are large and beds very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this property. It is close to the Hershey museum and directly across from the outlet mall. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAdkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay here as a family of five, and it totally served our purpose. We were there for Hersheypark and some outlet shopping....outlets are right across the street and the park five minutes away. We had a two-bedroom, two-bath unit in the Chocolate building. The beds were comfortable and the unit was clean & spacious. The kids enjoyed warming up at the unit's fireplace after using the pool. There was also an outdoor fireplace that had a fire going when we returned from the park that night. We could sit out there and listen to the Farm Aid concert going on at the Ampitheatre.

The only negatives we could notice were the shower in the master suite (it leaked out onto the floor even when curtain was completely closed) and some of the pots/pans were not clean. However, those are very minor, and as a family of five, we don't mind some water on the floor or having to wash a pan or two. The Guest Services was very accommodating to us, as we overslept on the day of checkout (long hard day at the Park!) and needed a later checkout, and we were permitted to stay a 1/2 hour extra, even though they were fully booked with incoming guests.

We will return when our travels take us to the area again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union,nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Suites was in a great location for a mini vacation(2 days) in Hershey. We used some Bluegreen points to get a two bedroom two bath suite. The suite was in the Cocoa Building, it was newly renovated, spotlessly clean, and well appointed. We were two couples, without children, so we cannot speak to any children;s activities, but there were two pools, indoor and outdoor.We were not bothered by any highway or train noise as other reviewers had mentioned.
The staff was pleasant and helpful with directions. We would return!

Room Tip: Ask for the Chocolate or Cocoa Buildings that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taramyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are still here. Very impressed. We check in an hour early thinking it was the check in time, nobody batted an eye. Staff was super friendly. Instructions and directions were perfect. Our room very clean and had everything we needed. There are 5 star hotels that are not as accommodating and nice as this. No, it is not decorated with top of the line decor, but it is tasteful and clean. We love it. We have traveled all over and stayed in many resorts/hotels, this is a wonderful place. The fireplace is a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GColon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just spent a week vacationing in Hershey, PA and stayed with the Suites at Hershey. There were plenty of activities for our multi-age level group. My 71 year old grandmother and I participated in the water areobics classes. My husband, father and sister LOVED the brewery. We spent a day in Lancaster, Ghettysburg and of course a trip to Cabela's hunting store. My mother and I shopped for clothes at Tangor Outlets several times. We also spent 1 full day at Hershey Park! Overall the hotel has an excellent location!

Hints: Bring laundry soap and wash your own towels to avoid fees.
Dukes Restaurant is fabulous! So glad we listened to reviews and ate there.
We grilled dinner one night and ate in the gazebo over looking the railroad tracks. The kids played on the playground within a safe distance.
The outdoor fireplace was also a nice place to sit and relax at night.
Clean, spacious and friendly. What more could you ask for from a family resort?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veddal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for the review. Yes, Troeg's Brewery opened right next door... you can even walk over! Great appetizers and great local brewery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently returned from a 4 night stay in Hershey and stayed in Building One at this resort. I must say that I was quite nervous prior to checking in after reading all the reviews about the noisy trains and the most recent negative review about mold, uncomfortable beds, etc. I must say that our family (there were 4 adults and 3 kids) enjoyed our time at the resort. The train which was a big concern did not bother us at all. We heard it a few times during the day (the kids were excited when they saw it) and maybe once or twice at night but it didn't disturb us at all. The unit was clean, spacious, and well equipped with everything one would need. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The location as many noted is fantastic as it's close to the shopping outlets and the amusement park.

The reason I took off a star is due to the pool/hot tub closing at 10pm. We went to Hershey Park twice and on both days the park closed at 10pm so we weren't able to come back to the unit and take advantage of the hot tub. Our kids did go in the pool during the day and thoroughly enjoyed it. Also, I do agree with another reviewer that paying $10 for "extra" towels during one's stay doesn't seem right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review... appreciate your feedback.
Yes, it was disheartening to the staff that a guest would have an "accident" in the room and put the blame on those that do their best to provide a wonderful vacation experience. I could not answer all the negativity due to limited space. The guest in question did have some legitimate concerns which contrary to their comments were addressed however, we found no "mold" in the room and did note some of the pictures provided were the result of their actions in the room.

Additionally, the building you stayed in is scheduled for $500,000 in renovations in early 2013!! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites at Hershey

Property: The Suites at Hershey
Address: 176 E Hershey Park Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hershey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites at Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort has 72 rooms. Each room features two bedrooms and two baths and is approximately 1200 square feet. Additional features include full kitchen, washer/dryer, 3 TV's, dining room and living room. Each room has a king size bed in the Master bedroom, two full size beds in the Guest bedroom and a queen size sleeper sofa.We are located one mile from Hersheypark and Chocolateworld attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Suites at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suites At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hotel Hershey
Suites Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing