We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a joke. I spent close to $500 a night for a room the size of a closet. I reserved for three people.. There's one queen bed with nothing else! They offered a cot but unfortunately the room is too small and would not fit. The only good thing is the pool and the scenery. But not at alllllll worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sharona Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent visit to The Hotel Hershey. I am glad that you took the time to do so, and appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide outstanding hospitality to all of our guests and I regret that we failed to do so for you.

I hope that when your travels bring you back to Hershey, you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    381
    125
    61
    60
See reviews for
966
494
31
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The wife is just mad on chocolate, so as a surprise kept a stopover here a surprise, the hotel is just superb, our room was immaculate and no surprise that the location for our visit to the theme park, water park and chocolate world was spot on, hotel was a great place to relax in and some decent restaurants in nearby Harrisburg

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We recently took the kids for an overnight getaway to Hershey. The Hotel Hershey does everything right. Excellent staff. Great amenities. Pristine grounds. Comfy beds. Chocolate at check-in. Live music poolside. Shuttle to the attractions. Free valet parking. And, you know it's great when the kids vote to hang at the pool instead of Hershey Park! Special kudos to lifeguards Josh and Jessica for befriending our girls! We're already talking about our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gman1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Gman1375,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Hershey. We strive to create memorable experiences for our guests, and it is always nice to hear that we have been successful. I will be sure to share your nice comments with Josh and Jessica.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautiful and convenient location for family vacation. The hotel has been maintained meticulously over the years, lacking nothing, but full of charm and elegance. The amenities are very nice from the swimming pools to the spa. My wife had the pleasure of spending a day there, and she stated that it was wonderful. I enjoyed the meals at the various restaurants. A good balance of what is new and old. I usually do not get much input from my daughter on where we stay, but she gave me a big thumbs up for the Hershey Hotel. Now that is a huge compliment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiKid60035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ChiKid60035,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey. We are very pleased to be your first 5 Star Review!

I am glad that your wife had a wonderful time at the spa, and that your daughter enjoyed her stay as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very nice staff; very cool Iberian Bar; nice spa; great outdoor pool with an "adults only" section; plenty of comfortable chairs and rockers everywhere. The stores had some really clever gifts. The hilltop setting made for a great view and breeze, even on a hot day.

Room Tip: ask for a large room because the small ones are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The drive up the road was striking as we approached the hotel. The folks at the front desk were so quick and gave us chocolate bars! The room was small but beautifully appointed. The bathroom had granite tiled floors and walls. We enjoyed the indoor pool with a lifeguard. The maid offered turn-down service with kiss3es on the pillow. We took advantage of the shuttle bus service to Hershey Park--hotel guests get to enter an hour earlier than the public.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section. There were rooms right off the indoor pool--it seemed to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were concern that the Hotel Hershey was overpriced, and that we would regret staying there for our annual trip the Hershey Park. We were very wrong! It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and worth every penny. Our family loved the hotel's pool and water slides. The Circular dining room and Harvest restaurant were delicious. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Property: The Hotel Hershey
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing