We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa.... Resort food left much to be desired!”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spa.... Resort food left much to be desired!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just return from a girls weekend and it was a great weekend. The room was beautiful and well appointed, however the view left a lot to be desired. We were not able to get a view of the gardens, so that was quite disappointing.

The Pros- The Service is wonderful. Everyone was so nice, helpful and geniunely seem like it is their pleasure to serve you. You can't buy that kind of service. The hotel is beautifully kept. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean. There is chocolate everywhere you go! The Spa - AMAZING. Top notch... three quiet rooms to wait in with chocolate muffins and other heavenly treats throughout.

The Cons - The food is not good. We ate at three different restaurant and were disappointed with all. This would have been a 5 star review had the food been better. The menu's selections were off. We expected at least some traditonal type of selection at the Italian restaurant but we actually only had drinks once we saw the menu and left. The hotel really needs to look at food because that would have turned this into a terrific experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear MizSparkle,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey. I am glad to hear that overall you had a great weekend.

We welcome all feedback, both positive and constructive, so I appreciate your comments regarding the menu options in our restaurants. We do make variations to our menus, so I do hope that you will give our restaurants another opportunity on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    386
    129
    61
    61
See reviews for
979
497
33
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at The Hotel Hershey in October for a three days business trip. The room was very quiet and the staff very professional and nice. The meeting rooms were sized correctly for our group and the events and food service were average. Take time to enjoy the elevated patio and the great pub staff.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators
See more room tips
Green Features: Green with recycling in the rooms....................................
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemicuda426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Hemicuda426,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Hershey during your recent business trip. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Hershey for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great spa. Beautiful hotel. Wonderful food. Oh wait. No. Don't go there. I want to keep this place all for myself.

Grounds were beautiful. Conference services well done. All around great place to get some work done.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allismm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear allismm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the spa, as well as the food, and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Couldn't ask for more! Concierge was extremely helpful with dinner reservations and recommendations (for off-property restaurants as well). The entire staff was extremely friendly. Great hub location for day trips and then there is the SPA! There are no words...just aaahhhh! Would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: If going to the spa, pool, fitness area, then ask for a room in the west wing. The hotel is quite l...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is great to see a hotel of this size making some environmentally-friendly strides with towels/sheets as well as providing recycling options in the room.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cici_sleestak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The main dining room, Circular, is stuning, bright, new (remodeled) and the services is a near 5-star. Drinks were above average, wine list ...I had a $17. glass of St.Louis. BUT the menu is strange, for such a grand resort hotel one would expect a more glorious menu. Grilled shrimp and scallops is that the best you can do? Limited menu is one thing but at least have some imagination. Dessert pf a chocolat souffle was average and so I ask ...do you have apasstry chef? Please tell us you will review the menu for next summer. PS. there was only ONE special. I love Hershey and even the Lodge (which is about 10 minutes away).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Dad1104,

Thanks for taking the time to share with us your dining experience at The Circular as we value our guest feedback, both positive and constructive. We’re disappointed to learn our menu options were not what you had hoped for. We do make variations to our menu on a seasonal basis so we hope you’ll consider coming back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager at The Hotel Hershey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburbs of Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I always wanted to come here for an extended weekend with my family, especially to enjoy to amenities of this beautiful hotel. I would suggest coming off-season or mid-week, because the cost difference is considerable. We enjoyed the going to Hershey Park in the dark during Halloween and the kids loved it. I would recommend a few things when coming here, even if coming in-season, other than try to come mid-week. Here are my recommendations:
- stay in the cottages, if you have more than 2 kids and you don't need a suite. The standard 2 bed cottage room is more than big enough for a family of 5 and they are not historic buildings, so the # of people limit with small children has no reason to apply.
- if you get to the hotel later and go to the park after 7:30pm, you can go again the next day, without paying for an entire 2nd day of tickets.
- there's a free, really nice shuttle to the park from the hotel. No need to spend $8 to park. We learned that too late, but should have known.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bandkmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a very relaxing overnight and enjoyed the Spa the next day. We just love The Hotel Hershey for a special getaway. Our room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small, but offered all the amenities. There was only room enough for one person at a time in the bathroom. We have stayed in other rooms at The Hotel with larger bathrooms. All of the staff are very friendly and always offering to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Property: The Hotel Hershey
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing