We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family getaway”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent a nice fall weekend there. My only complaint is that the shuttle from the hotel to the park does not run often enough. In fact, there should be two shuttles and maybe even a private entrance for the shuttle. Instead, you are grouped with all of the other traffic going into the park. The shuttle does drop you right at the entrance however. As far as the park. This was by far the cleanest amusement park I have ever been to.

The bfast at the hotel on Sunday morning it awesome and definitely take advantage of getting into the park 1 hour earlier than the general public.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Hershey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay at the Hotel Hershey when I am in PA with work. The lobby is fantastic with stained glass ceilings, you get a chocolate bar with your check in and on your pillow every night. The rooms are great; the beds are so plush and comfy. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and is lovely but a bit overpriced foodwise, especially in the evenings ; still there are cars to take you to Hershey town and maybe even Harrisburg is you are nice to the drivers.
A few bits are looking a bit tired like the elevators, hallways and the gym but the rooms more than make up for that and the grounds are stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Paul O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey.

I am glad to hear that you choose to stay at the Hotel when you are in the area for business, and that you find the hotel rooms to be comfortable.

The Hotel undertakes construction projects on a regular basis, and our current project is building a new Fitness Center and upgrading our Indoor Pool for you to enjoy during your future visits to Hershey.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Hershey Hotel for a family wedding. Have been to the hotel on past occasions, but not in last few years. Hotel management and services are as good as ever. Main dining room food quality much poorer than in past. management needs to take hold of the kitchen, return it to past levels.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank DHG716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Starting with the valets, front desk staff and amazing concierge, Nefertiti, our stay could not have been better. Our King room was on the small side, but very well appointed with a comfortable bed. Chocolate at turndown nightly, of course! Everyone at the hotel seemed proud to be there, and empowered to make sure we had a great guest experience.

The constant references to Hershey history were self serving, interesting the first time, but not for the 3rd or 4th time. Milton Hershey's face is plastered all over the hotel. Great success story, we get it.

Note: Frequent groups can overtake venues like the pool, restaurants, golf, etc., so be sure to call before you go. We were surprised how busy it was in September. We were also VERY surprised that the theme park was only operating on weekends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Can't praise enough! From the extremely pleasant young man who checked us in to the equally pleasant young woman who checked us out, everything was excellent. Service was outstanding. We enjoyed the walking trails and the beautiful hotel decoration and gardens. Breakfast buffet very good. Front desk welcome set the tone for a most enjoyable stay. (We could hear a little hallway noise and rumblings from the water pipes, but nothing that even slightly impaired our enjoyment of the stay.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently went to hotel Hershey for three nights. The place was beautiful and clean. The grounds where amazing, the hotel spotless . The room was comfortable a little on the small side, but spotless and nice. The hotel has a shuttle bus that takes you to Hershey park and other Hershey attraction . It's well worth it , you get in the park right away no car line and parking fee. Buses run from 8am to 11pm. They run every half hour. The hotel has a great outdoor swimming pool and water tube slides for kids. There is also an indoor pool open late .There are restaurants on the grounds walking distance for easy dinning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, especially the outdoor pool area.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Hershey during your next visit to Hershey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went to the Wine Festival at the Hotel Hershey this weekend and then took several people in my group to dinner at the Harvest restaurant, which is a restaurant on the premises. I found the staff extremely rude and particularly in the lounge/bar area. For a hotel of such prestige and history, the help left a lot to be desired. Very disappointed. Spent a lot of money at this establishment only to get treated very disrespectfully.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank TCBSomewhere_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear TCBSomewhere_USA,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit toThe Hotel Hershey.
Please accept my personal apolgies for the disappointmet you experienced at Harvest.

I do hope that you will consider The Hotel Hershey in your future travel plans. We would
welcome the opportunity to have you experience the true levels of hospitality and service
that are the hallmarks of The Hotel Hershey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $229 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing