We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is by far THE place to stay in Hershey, but be prepared to pay Disney prices. Everything is a la carte, so if you have children, it will get costly. Having said this, it is truly a beautiful property that transports you into vacation mode. There's even an adult only section with a rather large hot tub. You need to stay an extra day just to enjoy the grounds. There are no other properties in Hershey that can do this. There are also no other properties with such easy access to the park. Be prepared for mid-Pennsylvania slowness from staff. As a New Yorker, one can get impatient. So get into vacation mode when you arrive, and you will enjoy immensely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the front desk as the keys always seemed to fail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emdedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just had a delicious dinner for our anniversary at the renovated circular dining room. We were given a special room to ourselves without extra cost since it was available. Food was delicious! I had the rack of lamb and chocolate dusted scallops. For dessert I had the chocolate soufflé perfectly baked with vanilla custard in the middle.. The others also enjoyed their meals. I have been there countless times over the years and this was absolutely the best meal!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Judith C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your anniversary dinner at The Circular. I am glad to hear that you chose The Hotel Hershey to celebrate your special occasion, and that you enjoyed your meals.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family recently stayed in a cottage, for about the 3rd time. It's pricey, but the way to go. We only stayed one night, but wished we had more time to enjoy the property. The pool and sport court are faves and we love the privacy, convenience, and cleanliness of the cottages.
We dined at Harvest, which was fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returning from a 3-night stay at The Hotel Hershey (100 Hotel Road). The hotel was breath taking upon arrival. Our room was nice but was not vacuumed, the bathroom needed re-caulking around the sink facet, there was a decorative knob missing from the vanity, the vanity shelf needed dusting and the ceiling paint was peeling in the bathroom. The following day I asked the cleaning staff to vacuum and dust the vanity; the vanity was done but the floor was not vacuumed around the head of the bed. The food was delicious (via room service and The Circular) but pricey. Hershey offers a free birthday entree; however you will need to get the details when making your initial hotel reservations; there’s more required than an i.d. We did not discover that a coupon issued via the “home office” was needed “before” you could take advantage of the free entree. We had NO knowledge of this information until we were seated and ready to order our meal at The Circular. I was extremely disappointed and upset (on my birthday) that NO ONE shared this information prior to our arrival. I mentioned the free meal to reservations, the hotel (via phone conversations) several times before our arrival and the Circular staff when making dinner reservations. Please ask what’s required before you assume all that’s needed is a driver’s license. If you drive, there are several places to dine (Pizza Hut, Wendy’s’, Subway, Bob Evans, etc…) outside the hotel.

The complimentary shuttle to/from Hershey Park, the admission tickets to the Gardens and a show in Chocolate World were great. Remember when traveling, people of color may have to deal with prejudices, which we encountered twice (once while standing in line at Hershey Park trying to receive a Park map from this man handing out maps and another from Patrick, a bus driver, returning us to the hotel). Do your homework and consult with the Concierge Office for assistance. Hope your experience will be much better than ours, even though ours was not awful.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 507 - lobby floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Green Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel Hershey is a neat place and you definitely can feel the history the second you arrive. We stayed in one of the cottages and the rooms were awesome. The only real complaint we have is we waited for tables up to 25 minutes at the restaurants when there were multiple tables clearly open...I counted ten once! When i asked the hostess she was very short with me and said they are being cleared...they were set??? I also think they are way over priced...and nothing including water is complementary.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at The Hotel Hershey many times over the past 16 years. Our days usually start off by riding the shuttle from the hotel to the park. The air conditioned transportation to and from the park is a significant bonus as there is no need to use your car after you arrive. After riding many rides, we return to the newer 0 entry pool complete with watersides. The pool is a kid's dream, but they did not overlook the adults who come with them. There is a separate pool just for us! The hotel premises are immaculate, and there is obviously attention to detail.The woodside cottages are a must! I highly recommend that you treat yourself to this luxury at least once! The food is excellent and there are enough choices from fancy dinners to poolside dining.The staff at every level and position are polite, helpful, and friendly.You could spend a day or two at the park. We usually set aside one day for dry rides and one for wet. Now that our kids are older, we center our stay around a concert. The stadium is a great place to see a band and the sound is pretty good for an outside arena. There is plenty to do at the park! However, there is no shortage of things to do at the hotel. This past trip we tried geocaching! Although the hotel may seem a bit pricey, remember, you get what you pay for! You will not be disappointed in The Hotel Hershey.

Room Tip: Go for the Woodside Cottages!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Monica854,

I appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey.

It is nice to hear that you enjoy all that Hershey has to offer, including concerts at the Hershey Stadium. Thanks also for your nice comments regarding our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Hershey for many future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We attended a convention and decided to extend our stay. Our group ranged in age from 2 years old to 86 years old. There was something for eveyone on the premises. Having Hershey Park near by was an added bonus. Great vacation spot.

Room Tip: Best rooms for anyone with small children are the cottages; we had a King room - it was small and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#2 of 25 in Hershey
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $229 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing