We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best--but...”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love the Hotel Hershey. Came back for St Patrick's Day weekend and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food this time good...not great but restaurant service excellent. The "but" of this review is as follows: Hershey is for kids. Regardless of the fact that this is a luxury hotel, the staff should recognize that and not raise an eyebrow when they see a toddler having a tantrum in the lobby. Nor should the retail store keeper at the location seem annoyed when a toddler is walking thru touching non breakables with mom watching every step. That being said we enjoyed our stay and will be back this Summer with the hope that staff has a reality check.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out if your room has a hot tub shower or a separate shower. A bit scary without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonestReviewer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Although my stay at The Hotel Hershey was for only one night for a conference dinner, it was truly memorable. From the guys on the door, who literally bent over with sweeping gestures to open the door for me, to the friendly folks who checked me in, using my name, and gave me a bar of Hershey's Special Dark, to those who greeted me everywhere I went, I was made to feel extremely welcome and comfortable. My room, located poolside to the beautiful indoor pool (which is located in a vast glass atrium), was fantastic - beautifully furnished and clean with a super bathroom and oh-so-soft-and-warm bathrobe. The dinner menu was not my favorite choice of items but it was good; the drinks in the Iberian Lounge, which is a stunning room, were excellent - I even drank a Belgian beer, and I never drink beer! The waffles for breakfast next morning were out of this world - the best waffles I ever ate. I really wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I loved my room, which was poolside to the beautiful indoor pool. The only disadvantage to this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Hershey with a group of girls for a bachelorette party. The hotel was great. We got a two bedroom suite (one bedroom had a king size bed, one two fulls) with a living room that had a pull out couch and two bathrooms. 7 of us slept very comfortably. The living room was a great size and the sofa was big - almost all of us could sit on it at once! It looked like this was the type of suite that would easily become a king size bed plus living room or two doubles plus living room - there were doors that locked between the three rooms. So, if you are traveling with a family getting the living room would be a great idea.

The beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms were really well appointed. The bath products are so nice and smell amazing. Girls called dibs on who got to take them home!

The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping would come at times that were convenient for us, and stopped by a couple of times to see if we were okay, needed towels or water, etc. The concierge helped us get cabs, a bell man helped us take a great group photo. Everyone we met was so helpful. You also get chocolate bars when you check in and we got a surprise basket of chocolate treats dropped off during our stay!

There are a few places where the hotel could improve. First, the heating/cooling system was very old and seemed to operate at either "Very hot" or no heat at all settings. Second, one of the bathrooms (the one in the room with two fulls) was really small. Still very nice and clean but small. Finally, the room with the king size bed was right next to an elevator. This wound up being very loud. Speaking of loud, you could hear the music playing in the upper lobby from this bedroom until 11 PM. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the upper lobby and elevator!

As a last tip, we went to the chocolate spa during the day and it is phenomenal!!! Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I visited on business and was treated like it was a vacation. I will definitely return. The entire time there was wonderful and I rarely left the property. The staff, from entering the property to leaving made me feel as though I was the most important person in the building.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent the extra money for a king premium room with a tub. We were only there for one night as a getaway from our two young children, but since we never had to leave the resort (we ate at the restaurants on site), it was an extraordinarily restful and romantic time. The staff used our names and we left feeling valued, relaxed, and recharged. So glad we went--hoping to make it an annual tradition!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianeh429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel Hershey was one of the most beautiful hotels i ever stayed at the service was wonderful the food was great every time we left the the romm and came back there was always something there ice, in the bucket bed turned down and of course Hersey Kisses..
The lobby on the second floor is really something to see..
If your ever going to Hersey this is a must stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have visited the hotel and spa now for several years and continue to look forward to my trip every year. The hotel is wonderful, the staff exceptional, and the spa a delight! My favorite thing about the room are the sheets and the comfort of the beds. The restaurants are above average and the breakfast buffet is quite good for the price. I hope to continue my annual visits for some time to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbprehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: $229 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing