We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A must if you are ever in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must if you are ever in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a delightful hotel. The only hotel I know of that gives you a candy bar when you check in. The property is very clean and steeped in history. The breakfast buffet is nice and the dinner restaurant very good. The hotel overlooks Hershey Park which looked like a lot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    343
    112
    53
    56
See reviews for
877
453
26
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent two evenings at Hotel Hershey as part of a professional group. All staff were friendly and helpful; both restaurants had well-prepared food with excellent choices for dinner, and the breakfast and lunch buffets included a large variety of food, all excellent. The chocolate bread pudding and sauce are a must at the buffets, as are the individual sticky buns at breakfast. Don't miss the sticky buns. I've been enjoying sticky buns all my long life, and these are the best ever, rivalling the ones I used to make! There is also plenty of protein to be had as well. Stayed at the end of January so could not enjoy the gardens and outdoor activities, but the indoor pool was appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a fantastic visit to the Hotel Hershey. The Spa is amazing! The staff made our entire visit. They were super friendly, welcoming and helpful. They really made our trip. The hotel is beautiful and full of history. Would recommend for a romantic weekend or girls' weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in one of Hotel hershey cottages for a special duel celebration of birthdays. One for a three-year-old and one for a sixty. There was so much to do. I highly recommend. The cottages are gorgeous and comfy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

While I have not stayed at the hotel overnight, I have spent many days at the spa within the hotel. It is offers an experience most spas cannot. There is a beautiful bathroom with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash, mouthwash, hairdryer, curling iron. The spa provides an unlimited number of towels as well as a robe and sandels. There are many services available such as facials, massage, bath tub soaks. I have gotten the massages many times. The staff is very professional. The atmosphere is soothing and relaxing. The spa has rooms for relaxing and reading. A fabulous view of the gardens as well as muffins, coffee and chocolate...it is Hershey of course. Prior to or after the massage there are ammenities such as an indoor pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna which are available to guests of the hotel and spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing place to stay in beautiful Hershey, Pennsylvania. The ideal "spa like" hotel with a world class spa and just steps away from Hershey Park and Chocolate world as well as shopping and dining. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro, nj
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for three days over New Year's eve. We purchased the special New Year's eve package. Our kids are 12 and 9.

The Package: it included a party at Chocolate World on New Year's eve(from 6:30 to 10:00) and then a party at the hotel from 10:00 to midnight. We had a nice time at dinner in the chocolate world. We are vegetarian and asked for special meal and they made a special meal for us. So ask if you have special dietary needs. They had dancing and some nice activities for the kids. I would say that both these parties were great for kids 10 and under. Our 12 year old was a little bored but enjoyed being with us and being somewhere different. They had shuttles running from the hotel to choco. world. The party at the hotel had nice snacks and a dj for dancing. And it was fun to do the countdown with everyone. Also included in this package was breakfast buffet at the Circular Dining Room. The buffet was very nice and the food was really delicious. When we arrived they told us it would take an hour for a table. Don't get frustrated it only took us 10 minutes to get a table. It is worth the wait. Tickets to the Hershey Museum are also included. The Museum is nice.

The Hotel: This is a historic hotel. The rooms are small. We paid a extra or a suite. It was worth it. We had a nice sitting room and were able to enjoy the football games with ease. The walls are thin. You will hear everything in the hallway and from next door. We had a really loud family next to us but thank god they shared the wall of the sitting room with us so we could shut the door to the bedroom and not hear them. IF you are very sensitive to noise, this is not the hotel for you. You will be annoyed. The housekeeping was immaculate at this hotel and room service was amazing. The service of the staff was above and beyond. I loved that we didn't have to pay extra resort fees, for valet, for WiFi. There was free bottled water in our room and a fridge. This is a beautiful hotel and we had a great time. The indoor pool was a nice size and maintained very well.

Restaurants: We ate at the Italian rest. while there(Trevi). The service was a tad slow but the food was amazing. The Circular dining room breakfast buffet was great. The food was fresh and tasty. Fyi the dining room is closed for a few months for renovations starting Jan.
If you go a few miles down the road you will find some cheaper eating options and more choices for families.

The Park: the park is open with limited rides open. It was cold but it was nice to spend a few hours enjoying the rides and a show. We went around two b/c the lights went on in the evening and they were very nice. We had a nice time.

This was a beautiful hotel and service was top notch. It is a great hotel for adults. Kids are made to feel welcome with the choco bars at check in to some kids activities but I did feel that this was a better fit for adults due to the restaurants and food options. I heard the Hershey Lodge was geared more towards kids and we may try that next time. But this is worth the splurge. The reason I gave the property a for star instead of five was because of the thin walls and the fact that there could have been more activities for the kids to do. They had a few things for the kids but they were geared toward younger kids. They needed some stuff for tweens/teens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#4 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hershey Near the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Property: The Hotel Hershey
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing