We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous Place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing place to stay in beautiful Hershey, Pennsylvania. The ideal "spa like" hotel with a world class spa and just steps away from Hershey Park and Chocolate world as well as shopping and dining. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    343
    112
    53
    56
See reviews for
877
453
26
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marlboro, nj
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for three days over New Year's eve. We purchased the special New Year's eve package. Our kids are 12 and 9.

The Package: it included a party at Chocolate World on New Year's eve(from 6:30 to 10:00) and then a party at the hotel from 10:00 to midnight. We had a nice time at dinner in the chocolate world. We are vegetarian and asked for special meal and they made a special meal for us. So ask if you have special dietary needs. They had dancing and some nice activities for the kids. I would say that both these parties were great for kids 10 and under. Our 12 year old was a little bored but enjoyed being with us and being somewhere different. They had shuttles running from the hotel to choco. world. The party at the hotel had nice snacks and a dj for dancing. And it was fun to do the countdown with everyone. Also included in this package was breakfast buffet at the Circular Dining Room. The buffet was very nice and the food was really delicious. When we arrived they told us it would take an hour for a table. Don't get frustrated it only took us 10 minutes to get a table. It is worth the wait. Tickets to the Hershey Museum are also included. The Museum is nice.

The Hotel: This is a historic hotel. The rooms are small. We paid a extra or a suite. It was worth it. We had a nice sitting room and were able to enjoy the football games with ease. The walls are thin. You will hear everything in the hallway and from next door. We had a really loud family next to us but thank god they shared the wall of the sitting room with us so we could shut the door to the bedroom and not hear them. IF you are very sensitive to noise, this is not the hotel for you. You will be annoyed. The housekeeping was immaculate at this hotel and room service was amazing. The service of the staff was above and beyond. I loved that we didn't have to pay extra resort fees, for valet, for WiFi. There was free bottled water in our room and a fridge. This is a beautiful hotel and we had a great time. The indoor pool was a nice size and maintained very well.

Restaurants: We ate at the Italian rest. while there(Trevi). The service was a tad slow but the food was amazing. The Circular dining room breakfast buffet was great. The food was fresh and tasty. Fyi the dining room is closed for a few months for renovations starting Jan.
If you go a few miles down the road you will find some cheaper eating options and more choices for families.

The Park: the park is open with limited rides open. It was cold but it was nice to spend a few hours enjoying the rides and a show. We went around two b/c the lights went on in the evening and they were very nice. We had a nice time.

This was a beautiful hotel and service was top notch. It is a great hotel for adults. Kids are made to feel welcome with the choco bars at check in to some kids activities but I did feel that this was a better fit for adults due to the restaurants and food options. I heard the Hershey Lodge was geared more towards kids and we may try that next time. But this is worth the splurge. The reason I gave the property a for star instead of five was because of the thin walls and the fact that there could have been more activities for the kids to do. They had a few things for the kids but they were geared toward younger kids. They needed some stuff for tweens/teens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hershey Hotel in July, 2012 with another family.

The grounds and Hotel itself are beautiful, and there are several local places to visit and things to do.

There is a large walk-in outdoor pool which the kids loved and an infinity pool which is beautiful (adults only). The only negative incident is when we ordered food at the pool. One of the kid's hotdog rolls had a large (hard to miss) spot of green fungus growing on it. When we told the staff, they apologized and took back the hotdog, but with an attitude (like we were disturbing them). Normally this could have been easily over-looked as these things do happen, but for the price we paid to stay and eat here we just didn't expect to be made to feel bad for returning a fungus riddled hotdog.

Otherwise the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, a/c worked well (which in July was important.) Although the other family would not return because of the incident noted above, we might give it another try should we return to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the spa, which had a parking lot very close by which was important for us b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently stayed in an adjoining room at the Hershey Hotel. The hotel is amazing. The rooms are beautiful definitely first class. They have turn down service at night which means that your room gets cleaned twice a day. Valet parking and bell service. We stayed the week after Christmas and there are so many activities for the kids. They had a skating rink and an indoor pool and activities all day long. It was pricey, but definitely worth the money. I stayed at the lodge last year, but this is so much better than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very nice stay! The hotel is always very clean, the restaurants are very good and the staff are the best. We look forward to our arrival every time. Very relaxing atmosphere after a long day of running around the parks. I highly recommend the Hotel Hershey to anyone with our without children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I rented a cottage (includes 4 bedrooms and a great room) for a family gathering in January. Everybody LOVED it! The facilities are top-notch, and with the great room connecting all of the rooms, we could all gather in a common area for fun and games! We spent time at the pool in the hotel, and everyone enjoyed winning delicious prizes at Chocolate Bingo! On Sunday morning we took a long walk on the trail around the hotel. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I'm sure we'll do this again!

Room Tip: The Cottages were built behind the Hotel and we loved being there. You can use all of the hotel ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here with my family for two nights for Christmas. Everything was wonderful. The grounds and hotel are breathtaking. We stayed in a suite since we are a family of five and it was beautiful. While I agree that the rooms are not huge, it was perfect size for us, clean and well appointed. It has an old world charm to it. So many nice little touches such as chocolate everywhere, turndown service where they even leave nice music on in the room for you. Upon checking in and getting to our room, I found that they even left a hershey monopoly board game in the room as a gift which my kids enjoyed playing during our stay. Service is excellent and they aim to please. A truly first class experience. They had a list of kids activities available, my kids enjoyed the s'mores roast. Christmas morning we awoke to find stockings on our door filled with goodies for the kids-such a nice touch! The spa was nice and very relaxing. I would not hesitate to return, we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank na4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#4 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hershey Near the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Property: The Hotel Hershey
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing