We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arriero - CLOSED

Arriero
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cute place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you're looking for non-chain Mexican, this is a good choice. The salsa that arrives first is very fresh and flavorful -- I wound up putting it on some of my main course as well. The cheese enchilada was not greasy at all, and the beans didn't make the tortillas soggy, either of which can be a hazard when eating vegetarian at a Mexican place. The staff were all very friendly, and the service was very quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEtraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Fast service, friendly wait staff and the food was very good. Relaxed atmosphere with a little patio for summer dining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

By far the best Mexican food in the area, chain or privately owned. It's my favorite place to eat - I've lost track of how many times I've been there and it's never disappointed. Generous portions, all cooked to order, and attentive staff. Can't wait to try the new lunch buffet!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katebeachluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our family frequents El Arriero more than just about any other restaurant in the area. The food, service and prices are all good. They recently began a new lunch buffet every day from 11AM-3PM for only $6.99. The buffet has plenty of good food at a great price. Some of our favorites are the California Burrito, tacos carne asada, the Rio Grande, and the new one with a huge baked potato smothered with steak or chicken fajitas, onions, peppers and cheese sauce. It's more than filling. Unlimited nachos and great salsa dip, along with the large portions...you will never leave hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlm458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent preparation and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I often go to El Arriero, but sometimes it is just for a margherita and chips, or a light lunch. Last night I ordered a special to see what they did with a full-on dinner meal. I was not disappointed.

I ordered the steak/chicken combination Mojaleta special, which was served on two plates-- one plate with the rice, beans, and lettuce/salad/guac complement, and one wooden tray topped with an enormous tri-legged, cast iron pot 6" tall and 8" in diameter holding the delicious habanero-sauce with grilled onions, green peppers, jalapenos (added by me), steak, chicken, and shrimp (also added by me--extra).

They also brought a few soft tortilla's to use to make little wraps of the delicious contents, but I gave up after having one this way-- the sauce was best enjoyed over the rice with a fork.

i was very impressed with the flavors and the preparation. I shows that the cook/s at El Arriero can be trusted to do far more than throw together a simple burrito or taco. And I may well give some of their other dinner specials a try in the future. Well done!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCompeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing