We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we weren't with family celebrating Mother's Day, we would have walked out”
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Hermitage
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If we weren't with family celebrating Mother's Day, we would have walked out”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just spent 3.5 hours of my life in an Applebee's. We had a party of 7, were told (at 12:45p) we would have a 20-25 minute wait. We were seated at 2:00p. The food, that is usually average at best, was poor. My husband's food had been under a lamp for so long he had to chisel it (chicken and rice) from off the edges of the plate. While the staff were all kind and sweet, they were slow to do much of anything. The manager gave us a free chips/salsa which was appreciated and he was apologetic. I understand a packed Mother's Day restaurant is going to be a bit slower than typical, but this was a sad experience. Will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pgh15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western PA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We ate there and it was ok. The sirloin I had there compared to the one at chili's in butler was terrible!!!! They other food items weren't to bad but will just get soup and salad next time. Prices to high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandtward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Typical Applebees”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ate here a lot when I lived in the area and I sometimes I return with my family when I visit. The food is "OK" at best and the service depends on who your server is. The take-out is a way to go to avoid any crowds.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenS864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average lunch”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I ordered a chicken based salad. The lettuce was very pale, with no taste, and not much else. The chicken was fine, but not worth the price. Not even a cracker was served with the meal. Good thing we are small people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank janmariePittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's Applebees.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Applebees is always hit or miss. Sometimes it's good, other times not so. The restaurant itself is nice, alot of cool things to look at. The service is usually good, friendly staff. It's just the food, like I said not always bad, but I don't go there often because of the gamble.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JodeyelmS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing