We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Family Restaurant In The Poconos”
Review of Cook's Corner

Cook's Corner
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Henryville
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Family Restaurant In The Poconos”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I ride my motorcycle to the Poconos at least once every other week in the summer (I live 3 hours away) and I have numerous choices as to where to eat. I have tried many different places to eat over the years, but I have always been dissapointed with the meals compared to Cook's Corner (formally known as Hallet's Cozy Corner). This is the perfect gem of a restaurant known only to the locals or those of us lucky to stumble on it. The food is traditional family diner quality, and the prices are great. While I hope that this gem of a restuarant doesn't get too popular and crowded, I have to say that there is no better place to eat in the Poconos area for price, quality, and portions. You can never go wrong having a meal here. And as ann added bonus, the waitresses are the best anywhere, especially Kathy (better known as Bubbles). So do yourself a favor and forget the hype from the supposidely "better" restaurants, and go here and get an incredible down-home meal at a great price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    9
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A culinary asset in the Poconos”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have missed Dave's and Cindy's Cook Touch restaurant so we looked forward to trying out Cook Corner. We were not disappointed. The food, waitresses, and prices were great. We look forward to coming again. Jim and Sherri - Pocono Pines

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jxl_from_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Chef Dave Cook//Flavor and value”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Dave and Cindy Cook took over this landmark restaurant recently, and anyone who knew of their success in Mountainhome, with their Cooks Touch Restaurant, gladly followed them the short distance to Henryville. Not overly large, but comfortable, pleasant and reliable servers, great specials along with Dave's special touch with everyday dishes, make for a pleasant dining experience. The value is there as well, as you won't break the budget to have a great meal. It's worth the ride in the country, and we definitely recommend the Cooks Corner. Mike & Pat McGonigle Canadensis

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Real Local Eatery...”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I've been coming here since it opened in '90. Always good food for a reasonable price. New owners are trying to amp up the menu. Prices are a bit higher now. Had the "mesquite" steak last night. It reminded me of the flat, cheap steaks that Ponderosa used to serve for a couple of bucks. About 1/2" thick and not particularly flavorful. It paled in comparison to the thicker steaks served by Texas Roadhouse. and it was a few dollars more expensive.
Lots of people in the restaurant, though, so they are doing something right, just not steaks. My wife's crab-stuffed flounder was good, just not great. I'm not sure the increased menu prices are justified by the quality of the entree items. Not bad, mind you, just not stand out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mom & Pop Restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Loved this restaurant. Prices are affordable and the food reminds me of a lunch prepped by mom. It has a very cozy feeling and the service was great. Definitely recommend coming here after a morning shooting at Sunset Hill (5 minutes away).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charismaticxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Corner also viewed

Swiftwater, Pocono Mountains Region
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Scotrun, Pocono Mountains Region
Swiftwater, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Cook's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing