We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything pretty good, except the bedbugs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Genetti Inn and Suites is a pretty decent hotel. The rooms are okay, the service is decent and the rate is relatively affordable. Everything went well until the last couple days of my stay. I starting finding red welts on my arms and parts if my ankles. I thought it weird at first but the next day they spread. I realized they were bites. I immediately suspected bed bugs. When I had the chance I ripped the sheets apart and found at least two. I immediately reported it to the front desk and they moved me to another room, but at that point it was too late, my clothes were infested. It wouldn't be all that bad if my compensation for dealing with this wasn't only $50. If you stay at this hotel, make sure you check your sheets so you don't get eaten alive like me.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was by far the nicest place we have stayed on a trip. The hotel staff was very very nice. They were above and beyond helping us with a vehicle problem that we had and gave us booklet showing all the restaurants in the area for us to make a selection of where to go for dinner as we were late arriving. Breafast at the hotel was wonderful and the check out people were just as nice as the people who checked us in. Overall this was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We do have a great staff - customer service is our #1 priority! Looking forward to being your host again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The banquet hall was good. Food good. Tons of fun there. It is perfect to be able to have fun and just walk to your room. The breakfast was fine. It was simple and fresh. The rooms were clean. We stayed in building C and my parents stayed in building D. I have to say they made every effort to get us in early! Our rooms were ready by 11:30am! I did call several days in advance to request early arrival. Our bathroom was partially updated with nice tile. Tub was slow to drain. Rugs need to be replaced and room should be updated. Building D the hallway smelled musty and the room has not been updated what seems to be 1950. We have stayed at this location 9 years ago and other than the bathroom tile (and bedding) nothing has changed in 9 years. 2 stars given due to room condition needing complete update. Playground for kids is basically nonexistent. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Building C seems to be better condition than building d.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to comment on the wedding you recently attended! Renovations on overnight accommodations are always ongoing. We do offer extended stay suites with kitchenettes, Basic suites, and regular rooms. Always a pleasure to be your host! Looking forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel was clean, modern interior, internet worked fine, nice clean bathrooms. It was a good night stay. There was a wedding reception or some sort of gathering of people in the evening at the ball room and they got a little loud when it ended around 11 PM, but quickly departed and quiet was restored. Other than that, it was a good night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with BW Genetti Inn & Suites! Customer Service is our #1 priority! Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great stay. Good location in the heart of the city. Friendliest staff even suggesting dinner options with a packet of brochures and their own suggestions. There was a good breakfast buffet with a fine variety. Comfortable rooms were set into the hillside and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Customer service is our #1 priority!! Thank you for your comments! Looking forward to being your host in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I doubt that you will find a better value in the Pocono region than the Internet rate for this inn. The facility consists of several one- and two-storey buildings with parking adjacent to the rooms. The one-storey building in which our room was located was entirely nonsmoking, shaded by mature trees, and completely quiet despite the inn's location on a major road. The bed was quite comfortable and there was a flat-screen TV. The scrupulously clean and spacious bathroom had an older but endearing décor (think peach-colored tiles). There is ample opportunity for walking on old roadbeds in the woods behind the inn and ballroom, and the beautifully landscaped grounds surrounding the ballroom building should not be missed. Alfredo's restaurant directly across Route 309 from the inn provides excellent Italian cuisine and great ambience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Indigolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your taking your time to comment on your last stay!! Customer service is our #1 priority! Looking forward to being your host again! Always a pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel has seen better days. It occupies a large area and has several buildings. We registered at the office and drove to one of the far buildings. It had dim lighting outside the building. It does have indoor corridors. The first thing we noticed upon entering the building was a moldy smell. The room didn't smell quite as moldy except close to the noisy heater/conditioner unit. The rug was old but an attempt was apparently made to update the furniture. The most disgusting thing was the clogged bathroom drain we noticed when we took our showers. How could this have been overlooked when the bathroom was supposedly cleaned? The breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosiermomma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

My apologies we did not exceed your expectations! The Front Desk and a Manager on Call are available 24 hours a day to assure guest comfort. Customer service is our #1 priority. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to be your host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazleton
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hazleton
Ramada Hazleton
#6 of 8 in Hazleton
377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hazleton
Hampton Inn Hazleton
#1 of 8 in Hazleton
719 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in West Hazleton
169 reviews
12.4 mi away
Country Place Inn & Suites
Country Place Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in White Haven
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton

Address: 1341 N Church St, Hazleton, PA 18202-3333 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Genetti Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Hazleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Price Range: $54 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton is located off I-81 and is within 3 miles of downtown Hazleton, The Laurel Mall, Edgewood in the Pine Golf Course, Sugarloaf Golf Course and Blue Ridge Trail Golf Course. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and pet friendly rooms. When you check in, check out the fantastic hotel and room amenities we have to offer during your stay. Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton offers a continental breakfast (6:00am to 9:00am Mon - Fri., 7am to 10am Sat-Sun). The hotel also offers an outdoor seasonal pool (Memorial Day thru Labor Day), guest coin laundry, a business center, vending machines and a picnic area for guest use. Guests can work out free of charge at a fitness center 2 miles away. All rooms have a microwave and mini-refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, cable, in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and a desk/workspace. This hotel offers suite rooms and select rooms with kitchens. Complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee is offered in the lobby and one well-behaved pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Hazleton
Best Western Genetti Inn And Suites
Best Western Hazleton
Hazleton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing