We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comparison good old home made Italian favorites”

Senape's Tavern Pitza
Ranked #9 of 95 Restaurants in Hazleton
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No comparison good old home made Italian favorites”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Start with their pepper salad and home made bread and wash it down with old fashion draft birch beer. Then move on to the scamutz pizza. Their meatballs and sausage toppings are one of a kind. Don't pass this up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clampet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last of the great places of old school Hazleton. Should be featured on one of the diner shows. Great pizza. Good food. Good pricing. Very limited seating. Very old fashion. Needs interior upgrade but food worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineH821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Creek, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WORTH THE DRIVE FROM ANYWHERE”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Aging neighborhood tavern w/ the best pitza on earth. We drive 30 miles to enjoy their food. Italian menu that has not disappointed in the 40 years we have dined there. The square sausage and scamautz bar pie is unmatched anywhere. Always crowded, always loud, always delicious. Service is terrific with only one or two wait staff scurrying about. Absolutely plain interior which doesn't matter once you're served. They even bake their own bread. I shun tens of nearby pizza places, including Old Forge, to eat at Senapes. The only negative is once you have eaten here, you will disappointed elsewhere. Enjoy

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza On Earth”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Simply the best Pizza on Earth, and I've had Pizza at many, many places. I've been eating there since I was a teenager, and that was a long, long time ago.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I have known gerry for a long time,have not been there in a while but the last time I was there about april 2012 the food was the same but some of the staff changed,gerry still is cooking downstairs but I do know he has some health problems and was looking to retire if someone can confirm please post here on tripadvisor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler457700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senape's Tavern Pitza also viewed

West Hazleton, Luzerne County
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 

Been to Senape's Tavern Pitza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing