We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough one to rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hazleton
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tough one to rate”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We often stay at Hampton Inns as our preferred Hotel, good beds, quiet, clean etc. This location is the first exception, as soon as we walked in, the lobby smelled of mold and mildew but appeared to be very clean and well kept, beautiful view from the dining room over the valley! Our rooms (we had 2) were also apparently clean but didn't smell as clean as other Hampton Inns, no particular smell but not particularly clean smelling either. The check-in was efficient but less than warm, just doing her job, by contrast, the check-out lady was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was fine with a nice dining room and good food. Just be sure to ask for even numbered rooms or you'll be sitting on the I-81, literally a stones through from the back of the hotel. The other pet peeve of mine is that the ventilation unit cycled to a complete "off" so every time it needed to cool/heat the unit would start up in the middle of the night and wake me, I was told the next day that they could have sent maintenance to set it to "continuous" which I will try next time but all other Hampton Inns we've stayed at have a wall thermostat with the fan "on/auto" setting.

Room Tip: ** Be sure to ask for an even numbered room, a room with the view or the "quiet side" this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wecanreviewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    184
    84
    42
    20
See reviews for
203
234
43
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomeroy, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I always love staying at a Hampton Inn, the beds are wonderful. As a female who has spent the last 20 years travelling in my job, it was important to be able to have a good experience on the road, arrive at my client's office, rested and ready for a hard long day's work. I have always felt safe and secure at a Hampton. Cathy Matthews

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On our way down to VMI College and stood the night at this hotel. Could not have stayed at a better place. Everything was great from the first step in to when we left. Ended staying another night on our way back home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I hesitated to write this review based on all the glorious reviews I've seen, but I felt compelled to be honest since I rely very heavily on these reviews myself. This Hampton Inn is very well located and an easy-off and on from I-81. It is also the only Hampton Inn we've stayed at without a mini-fridge or microwave in the room. The breakfast was mediocre compared with other Hampton Inn breakfasts we've enjoyed and we were quite surprised by this. As always, the bed was fabulously comfortable as were the pillows, but when we took the pillow cases off two of them to try to see where they came from so we could buy some for ourselves, we noticed brown water stains on both, and promptly put the cases back on. The room itself was very clean. As always, the staff was very courteous and helpful. The cookies at the front desk were wonderful, and I was very happy to see that they did add other varieties along with the "signature" chocolate chip. We did get a good night's sleep, (as we did get a room with a view) and that's what it's all about, but would we stay here again....not so sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you find yourself traveling down I-81 this is a good place to spend the night. It is clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful and there is a great Italian Restaurant near there with great food and more kinds of craft beer than I have ever seen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank loverofbeautifulfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are always ready to stay at Hampton Inns. We always have a great stay and friendly staff. The breakfast is very good and the beds are super comfortable. The fitness center and pool are a real bonus and the convenience of the business center is extremely helpful during travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I would recommend this hotel highly. Courteous staff, true to their word accommodations and amenities. Clean! Overall a great place to stay!!! Anything I asked for they helped me with and they were HAPPY to do so! Everything worked, I could go on and on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazleton
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#2 of 8 in Hazleton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in West Hazleton
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Hazleton
Ramada Hazleton
#6 of 8 in Hazleton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Hazleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hazleton

Property: Hampton Inn Hazleton
Address: 1 Top of the 80s Rd, Interstate 81 and Route 93, Hazleton, PA 18202-8021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Hazleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hazleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hazleton!Few places match the pristine beauty of the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Hazleton. Soak in the grandeur of Pennsylvania's mountains, streams and lakes. Ask us for advice on how to enjoy the many exciting activities offered in our outdoor paradise, including swimming, rafting, skiing, canoeing, hiking, biking and fishing. We are also close to the thrills and fun of Knoebels Amusement Park.When you're ready to come in, Hazleton offers great shopping, dining and historic attractions. It's all within minutes of our hotel in Hazleton. So bring your family to the Hampton Inn hotel in Hazleton, where you're surrounded by sheer beauty.Even if you're in Hazleton to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hazleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hazleton Hotel Hazleton
Hazleton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing