We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaw”
Review of Ovalon Restaurant

Ovalon Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Hazleton
Price range: $14 - $56
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family Owned & Operated Since 1946 the Ovalon Bar & Grill is Hazleton's longest standing fine dining restaurant. Today the Ovalon is a Italian fine dining tradition, and stands as the roots of the Scalleat Hospitality Group's three restaurants Our chefs feature Italian Classics -- as well as contemporary offerings - in our wide-ranging entree selections. For those that enjoy a lighter fare, a sandwich or a small plate at our smoke free bar is an excellent option. Families can sit and appreciate a relaxing meal with their children, who can order from the children's menu. We also have a full menu available for takeout.
1 review
“Chaw”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Nice bartender .nice atmosphere. Good Thursday nite dinner.drinks top notch.. will most definitely go back again. And take some friends.

Helpful?
Thank Reginald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friends visiting from DC loved the Ovalon as much as I have for decades. Great bread, pastas & specials.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will visit again!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ovalon is a great local spot. I was traveling alone for work, and decided to have dinner at the bar. The bartender was friendly, and the food was delicious. I ordered the Filet a la Greek - it came topped with LOADS of lump crab meat! The dinner salad was very fresh, and the homemade bread was served warm. Great dinner overall! The menu offered many choices, and I will definitely visit again to try more!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amander11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“quiet and relaxing, open Sundays”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ruled out some of the other local places because they were closed for dinner Sunday evening. We were glad to have dinner in a place without loud music playing. It was pleasant, food was fine, really good bread, and the servers were nice and seemed to know the locals. Casual interior.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank must-keep-moving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were directed by to this restaurant by the hotel and AAA. Our GPS gave us a fine direction but we were surprised that we passed it because the outside didn't seem a likely location. We were delighted upon entering to find a full restaurant with a neighborhood bar & grill attached. We were on the early side of dining time and were alone in this part of the restaurant. It was appointed well and we were attended to promptly. The waitress was very helpful explaining they would be careful about keeping our order safe (one of us has a shell fish allergy). We each had an Italian entree (chicken francese and veal parmesan). The bread was an excellent appetizer. The entrees were piping hot and delicious. The portions were large enough but not so much we felt overfull or wasteful. The prices were quite reasonable. This was a great experinence and when we travel through this way again, we will be sure to spot here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dre241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ovalon Restaurant also viewed

West Hazleton, Luzerne County
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 

Been to Ovalon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing