We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trust your senses”
Review of Hawley Diner

Hawley Diner
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Hawley
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trust your senses”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we saw this worn-out symbol for a diner, our first reaction was to move on. There are not, however, many choices for places to eat in downtown Hawley. So, into the valley rode the 2 diners.

It's obvious that the restaurant does not subscribe to the saying that cleanliness is next to godliness.

Nothing on the menu stood out. I ordered some kind of hamburger special. There was absolutely nothing special to it. It was rather bland served with french fries that were more bland than the hamburger.

We were the only customers in the joint. Perhaps everyone else knew what was there. The cook was a man in the off-white apron. Not the cordon bleu type. The waitress, was not the type to take any guff from the customers. The service was befitting all tat we saw there. About the only good thing I can say is that the meal was inexpensive. It's not on my list of must visit again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    30
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good local diner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

They have been open for over 50 years, and I think it is the same good place to eat as it was 50 years ago when I first visited. If you like good old fashion local diners this is the place to stop. The service was great, the food was very good, the desserts are homemade. We had the coconut cream pie and the pumkin bread pudding, both of which were outstanding. Nice friendly staff, reasonable prices. The place is in the middle of town close to everything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peace1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Satisfying Meal”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's a diner - what more can I say. The food is good, prices reasonable, and service, fast. The menu has something for everyone, and their salad bar and buffet is pretty good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PSU_Crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greentown pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“great food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

their coffee is extremely delish...they make food like you used to have at the old diners...and it is really very homey and very polite people...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food. old diner charm”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

great friendly staff. Good food. Charming 1950s atmosphere

Think all furnishings are original as you can see the wear/tear

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawley Diner also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Hawley Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing